Book Review: Ignite (Ignite#1) By Erica Crouch

17875224Synopsis

Penemuel (Pen) fell from grace over a millennium ago, yet there are still times she questions her decision to follow her twin brother, Azael, to Hell. Now that the archangel Michael has returned, threatening Lucifer’s vie for the throne, she begins questioning everything she has always believed.

As Hell prepares for war – spreading a demonic virus and pilfering innocent souls to build an army – the lines separating the worlds blur. Fates erase and the future is left unwritten. Azael is determined that he and his sister will continue to serve as demons together, but for the first time in her life, Pen is not ruled by destiny. She has the freedom of choice.

With choice comes sacrifice, and Pen must decide which side she’s willing to risk everything fighting for: the light, or the dark.

Rating: ★★★★½

I have to admit. I haven’t read many angel/demon/heaven books. All of their premises sound ridiculously similar & I find no use in reading the same story but with different names for the main characters. I started watching the Word Nerds when they started & I totally fell in love with them. So when I learned that Erica has a published book, I went on goodreads to check it out. Once I read the synopsis, “ugh not another Angel story!!!” was the first thing that passed my mind. I ended up adding it to my tbr anyway because I really like Erica & I like supporting authors that I like. Ignite stayed unread for some time. I always had this just one book to read before it. I follow Erica on twitter (I also follow her on pinterest, youtube, her blog… Erica do you have any other social media platforms for me to stalk follow you on???) and lately she’s been updating us on the editing of Incite. I asked her when she expects it to be published and she said maybe late January 2015. So I sat my ass down on the couch, and plunged straight into a world of angels, fates, and poetry. WHY OH WHY HAVE I LEFT THIS BOOK UNREAD UNTIL NOW.

Warm, slick and rusty red. I should be used to being covered in blood by now, should be used to how it spills from their veins faster when they’re scare, their hearts pumping liters of it out of their body in a panic

LETS TALK ABOUT THIS. LETS TALK ABOUT THIS RIGHT NOW. How often do you encounter a book that starts this way? That’s right. Not very often. The beginning sentence of a book is what makes or breaks a book for me and if this sentence doesn’t keep you wanting for more then I don’t know what will. Penemuel (or Pen) is a fallen Angel along with her brother Az. They work for Hell now, killing, reaping souls and basically being badass. We soon meet Michael, who is supposed to be an archangel, and he’s all blushes and awkwardness and furtive glances at our Pen. Pen and Az are pretty shocked to see him because he is supposed to be dead and also because he looks different and has no memory. They hatch a plan along with Gus, who is a big guy in Hell, to either kill Michael or get him on their side for the upcoming battle against Heaven. Pen is given the task of keeping an eye on Michael and to try convincing him to join Hell. I loved that the point of view that we got was the “evil” side. It was such a refreshing change from the “human falls in love with supernatural” overused concept. Pen wasn’t exactly “evil”, but she has killed many humans and she doesn’t hesitate in defending herself. She doesn’t need rescuing. She doesnt need someone to defend her. She uses the knife that she carries, and can pack one hell of a punch. She loves literature. Needless to say, I freaking love her. Michael was adorable. A bit corny, but adorable. He always said the loveliest things to Pen. He believed in her. He was never afraid to tell her his feelings and I guess that made me like him even more. Not saying how you feel to the person that you like doesn’t make you more ‘manly’. He doesnt spend time fretting over whether she likes him or not. He told her that he likes her straight to her face. He doesn’t blush as much as he did as when we first met him and its sad because that kind of signifies that he has lost some of his innocence in a way. Az. Sigh. Lets talk about Az. I really, really like Az. He was always there for Pen, in his own way mind you, but he was still there. His actions throughout the novel were very confusing. He wasn’t very nice to Pen. He wanted her to follow his lead. He didn’t care about who Pen really is. But at the same time, he isn’t all bad. He holds her hand. He doesn’t let anyone hurt her. He lets her read Romeo and Juliet to him even though he dislikes it. I love how awkward he gets when Pen hugs him. But what really shocked me, what really tore me apart, was that epilogue. Az had no compassion for Pen. He is truly going to kill her. It didn’t escape my notice that he didn’t get rid of the pendant or her sword, but he truly despised her. I wished that the epilogue was a bit longer. I really want to understand Az. I hope that the next book will throw more light on his character.

Join the Discussion

