Book Review: Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller

18590808Synopsis

Stolen as a child from her large and loving family, and on the run with her mom for more than ten years, Callie has only the barest idea of what normal life might be like. She’s never had a home, never gone to school, and has gotten most of her meals from laundromat vending machines. Her dreams are haunted by memories she’d like to forget completely. But when Callie’s mom is finally arrested for kidnapping her, and Callie’s real dad whisks her back to what would have been her life, in a small town in Florida, Callie must find a way to leave the past behind. She must learn to be part of a family. And she must believe that love–even with someone who seems an improbable choice–is more than just a possibility.

Trish Doller writes incredibly real teens, and this searing story of love, betrayal, and how not to lose your mind will resonate with readers who want their stories gritty and utterly true.

Rating: ★

I ALWAYS try to simmer down my hate when writing reviews because I know that authors read them and really, there is nothing worse than reading a review where your precious work is bashed, but what the hell this is my blog and I’ll write what I damn want on it.

This book just ugggh annoyed me so much that I need to vent out now or I’m going to burst.

Sometimes you read books where the MC isn’t likable on purpose.

I don’t think this book was one of those cases.

I’m pretty sure you are supposed to like the MC or at the very least, feel some sympathy????

I didn’t.

Sometimes the MC is bitchy but you still like them.

Nope, not the case either.

For me to enjoy a book, I need to like the MC. I need to be able to connect with them. I need them to be my friend for the short time that their story is in my hands. I need to be able to treat them as I treat my friends (always there to listen to them and advice them but not necessarily to agree with all their actions).

I wasn’t able to reach any of these with Callie. She annoyed the hell out of me. I wanted to slap her oh so many times and her being fictional didn’t make it possible. WHY AREN’T YOU REAL UGH I NEED TO GET MY ANGER OUT ON YOU!

I only read 32% of this book. I don’t know or care if Callie changes later on, but during these 32% Callie (in no particular order)

1)Falls instantly in love
2)Tries to have sex with a guy she just met (not the aforementioned insta love dude).
3)Laments why the guy didn’t have sex with her.

“How could he not want me? He’s a boy. This makes no sense at all.”

SERIOUSLY? HOW FUCKING IRRESISTIBLE DO YOU THINK YOU ARE??????

“I don’t understand what happened, why Connor didn’t want me.”

GIRL, YOU LITERALLY JUST MET HIM AN HOUR AGO.

4)Remembers the guys she kissed and slept with before.
5)Hates on her mum for one minute, then goes like “I’m not staying in this place. I can’t lose my mum”.
6)Completely disregards her dad’s feelings.
7)Shouts at Kat, when the only crime the poor girl did was be excited to meet her. (because of 6 and 7 I summarized that APPARENTLY CALLIE IS THE ONLY ONE IN THIS WORLD WHO HAS THESE WEIRD THINGS CALLED FEELINGS)
8)Sleeps with the insta love dude on their second meeting. I can’t remember if he even knew her name at that time and I’m not bothered to check.
9)Bitches some more to her dad when she hears that his wife (her step mum) wants her checked for metal illnesses (Callie’s mum had BPD) before letting her get close to her kids. HELL, I WOULD HAVE NEVER LET YOU EVEN SEE MY KIDS BECAUSE OF HOW UNSTABLE YOU ARE.

OH OH OH

I have a question for you. Did you read the synopsis well? Did you, perhaps, read the following sentence

Trish Doller writes incredibly real teens, and this searing story of love, betrayal, and how not to lose your mind will resonate with readers who want their stories gritty and utterly true.

I’M SORRY BUT “INCREDIBLY REAL TEENS” ? ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? If real teens are like this then humanity is lost. Bye bye I shall pack my things and go live on the moon.

I COULDN’T READ MORE. I COULDN’T.

I think I’m heartless. I have to be. I’m swearing at a girl who was kidnapped by her mum and then molested by one of her mum’s boyfriends. I want to use “Its not you, its me” but I can’t. It really was you, Callie.

Bottom Line

This book is a joke.

sorrynotsorry.

Join the Discussion

