Book Review: Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice By Jane Austen, Po Tse, Stacy King

21433253Title: Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice

Author: Jane Austen, Po Tse, Stacy King

Publication Date: August 19th 2014

Format: ARC

Beloved by millions the world over, Pride & Prejudice is delightfully transformed in this bold, new manga adaptation. All of the joy, heartache, and romance of Jane Austen’s original, perfectly illuminated by the sumptuous art of manga-ka Po Tse, and faithfully adapted by Stacy E. King.

 

3 stars and a half

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

Before I begin my review, I’m going to freak out for a bit. THIS IS THE FIRST REVIEW COPY THAT I RECEIVE. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! 🙂

Okay breathe in out in out  let’s begin.

I’m not one of those people who are crazy about Pride and Prejudice. I like it, yes, but in my humble opinion, there are many better stories out there. Now that I think about it, I don’t much like “classics” as a whole.

I happened upon this manga adaptation while surfing GoodReads. The cover is so eye-catching and even though I could only see the art on the front cover, I fell in love with the art. I added it to my TBR, whatsapp-ed the photo to my P&P crazed cousin and we fangirled over it for a long time.

I searched for the book in many bookstores but couldn’t find it (I rarely find any book that I want in this country. The bookstores are seriously lacking. 😡 ). Months passed and I had given up on reading it. Then a few days ago, I found it on NetGalley. My hand shook while pressing that green Request button. I woke up today morning to see that my request has been approved! Eeeep! What an awesome way to wake up!

Anyway, I turned on the laptop, downloaded it, and finished it in 2 hours. Oh Mr. Darcy, you are soo dreamy. And that chibi version of him. How I swoon.

My first thought was that the art is Beautiful. Beautiful with a capital B. I loved the hair, the dresses, the shawls, the eyes, the expressions, do I really have to go on? Tse’s artwork is done so well that I spent a lot of time just staring at the computer screen trying to absorb all the wonderfully drawn details. There was this tiny error where Elizabeth’s hand was drawn a bit weirdly on page 148 but that was it.

The relationship between Elizabeth and Jane was depicted very well. Their faces literally shone with love for each other, and I’m glad that that aspect was very clear because it’s a very important theme in the book.

However, because the story depends more on pictures rather than words, I sometimes felt that we jumped from one scene to the other too fast. I had to go back to the previous page several times because I got confused as to what was happening right then.

Also, and that’s a huge error, was the way of talking. Elizabeth and Darcy were saying each other’s name without the honorific Mr and Miss. This simply wasn’t done during the Regency Era where everyone was so damn polite.

Bottom Line

I had so much fun reading this manga adaptation! I laughed out loud (maybe even giggled a bit) at many parts. I’m thinking of hunting for a copy and giving it as a gift to my cousin as I’m sure that she will love it. I might even buy a copy for myself!

Do give this a try.

Join the Discussion

