Book Review: Graceling By Kristin Cashore

3236307Synopsis

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight – she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change. 

She never expects to become Po’s friend.

She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace – or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away…

Rating: ★½

Hi peeps! It’s been a long time! I come baring news. Good news: I only have 2 final exams left and then I’m freeeeeeeeeeeee. Well, as free as I can be with only 4 days holiday. Then back to uni for the summer session. You know what they say: no rest for the wicked ;-).  Bad news (it’s bad news only if you liked Graceling): Watch/read me butcher a reader favorite in this blog post. I’M SO FREAKING EXCITED MWAHAHAHA

Also, I should say that this post contains nothing about the plot of the book. This is me complaining about one of my hugest pet peeves ever. And yes I know that many people have complained about it already but I don’t really care. It’s my turn. And I’m going to get my anger out.

There is one thing that really gets on my nerves when reading a book with a supposed kickass heroine.

*Drum roll*

A girl who cuts her hair short, hates wearing dresses and acts like a guy all in the name of being strong.

No.
Just no.

A girl CAN have long hair and she CAN love wearing dresses AND be bad-ass as well. Its not one or the other.

As I was reading this book, all I could focus on was Katsa’s on-look toward the female sex. She might have not said it word for word but her actions and thoughts were practically screaming that females are weak and the only way to be strong is to be a man and have no romantic relationship whatsoever. Um excuse me miss but can you please direct me to the nearest well? I have this not so sudden urge to drown you in it.

Maybe some women think that way. I think the author does. And okay you want to believe that females are weak go ahead you can think whatever the hell you want. BUT DON’T TRY TO MAKE ME THINK THAT WAY TOO. DON’T TRY TO CONVINCE ME THAT THAT IS THE RIGHT WAY TO THINK. I don’t wear dresses but I paint my nails and I wear makeup and I know how to walk in heels and I have hope that one day I’ll have a whirlwind romance AND I BELIEVE I’M STRONG. I PERSEVERED. I OVERCAME. AND IF THIS BOOK IS GOING TO TELL ME THAT BECAUSE I ACT LIKE THE FEMALE THAT GOD CREATED ME TO BE THEN I’M NOT STRONG THEN BYE BYE I DON’T WANT TO LAY MY EYES ON IT EVER AGAIN.

This book isn’t feminist. It’s an insult to feminism.

I have nothing more to say. No that’s a lie I actually have so much more but I’m done talking about it.

Bottom Line

I didn’t finish this book and I don’t plan to; I didn’t get what all the hype was about.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Graceling By Kristin Cashore

    • Jinan May 26, 2015 / 11:08 pm

      I know! I had such high hopes for it…

  1. 3alya June 10, 2015 / 11:20 pm

    Damn! I’ve read this book way back before I cared or even knew something called ‘feminism’. I really loved it! Not thinking of a reread because it is not the deep and detailed kinda book that you just need to reread and re-enjoy. But I loved it when all i cared about was the story and when i did not over-think these things. Perhaps over-thinking is not always good, you know?

    • Jinan June 11, 2015 / 4:34 am

      exactly. you couldn’t be more right. overthinking can kill the enjoyment for the story! if you notice, I didn’t talk plot in this review because I really liked the idea of the book. I still think it’s super interesting BUT I just couldn’t get over what Katsa was preaching. I overthought and overanalyzed everything she said and that ruined the book for me 😦

Join the Discussion

