Unpopular Opinions Tag

This tag originated on booktube. 

Saw this on Debby’s a few days ago and tagged myself. I’m usually that person who doesn’t like what many other people did so this tag has my name written ALL over it. 

A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE

I’ve already ranted about 100 Sideways Miles and Graceling. I loathed every minute of reading TGOFT before I DNFed it; all the MC did was complain about her weight and think about food. That’s all she did. Truly.

A BOOK OR SERIES THAT EVERYONE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE

41865

I don’t ‘love’ this series. I think it’s meh. I chose to put it here because I have things I want to say about the atrocious behavior of many people. Twilight came out when I was in grade 8. Everyone was so in love with it. I remember once asking this girl if I can have a look at it and she clutched the book so tight in her hand like I was about to snatch it away any second. (she told me no btw) #sigh. Girls were changing their family names on facebook to Cullen and twilight related usernames were everywhere. Then suddenly, people started hating on it and any bad book that comes out gets likened to it. What on earth happened? How can people love something so much then discard it so quickly?

I totally get why 12-13 y/o like it and then as they grow up they notice its flaws and how controlling Edward is. But that doesn’t give you the right to hate on it after your name was XXXX Cullen on facebook a year ago. (also you should always let other people see your books. or else they’ll be traumatized. like me.)

A LOVE TRIANGLE THAT DIDN’T END THE WAY YOU WANTED IT TO

5287473

I liked this book. The MC is a witch and we actually get to see her classes and stuff so that was all super interesting. BUT. Throughout the book, a love triangle was kinda hinted and it was made a bit more obvious by the end. It’s true that we didn’t get to know the other guy a lot because he wasn’t exactly a main character, but I liked him more and I wanted the MC to end up with him, so I searched a bit and found out that he dies. It was such a lame and easy way out.

A BOOK GENRE YOU HARDLY REACH FOR

Contemporary. I’m a huge huge HUGE fantasy lover and even though I like contemporary I just don’t pick it up anymore.

A POPULAR OR BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DID NOT LIKE

6936382

Anna and Étienne. Anna was the most annoying Mary Sue I’ve ever had the misfortune to meet and Étienne was a cheater. No extra words needed.

A POPULAR AUTHOR YOU JUST CAN’T SEEM TO ENJOY

If you read chick lit, then you’ve probably heard of Jane Costello. For some reason though, I can’t get myself to finish any book by her; I start reading and go like okay this sounds really nice then I just lose interest. I tried reading Girl on the Run 3 times before I gave up.

A POPULAR TROPE YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING

omg the MC is sostrong and sospecial and they have this supah powah that only 1 in 100000000 people have.

A POPULAR SERIES YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING

The Vampire Diaries: the girl can’t decide about who she wants to be with. NOPE

Halo: heard some not very good things about it. NOPE

Fifty Shades: hahaha. NOPE

The Hunger Games: now before you start cocking your guns, hear me out for a minute. I started reading book 1 way after the hype was over and by that time I had read many other dystopian books. I didn’t finish the book because I found the idea was overused. I guess I should’ve read this one first. Oh well.

The Mortal Instruments: I read only until book 3 and then heard that the quality drops marginally after that. I read the synopsis for book 4 and I felt like Clare was just creating trouble so she can write more books. My life wasn’t changed when I read the first three anyway. Nope.

Fallen: I have nothing against this one since I have zero knowledge about it. I just don’t think I want to read it. The covers for the whole series are absolutely gorgeous even though the ballgowns are useless.

Vampire Academy: I found the idea seriously silly. And the names even sillier. Moroi. Dhampir. Whenever I say that I feel like I’m saying ‘damper’. I read 20 pages before I gave up. NOPE.

Outlander: from what I gathered the MC is married to a guy in her present time then when she goes to the past she marries another?? What’s up with all the books these days? Are you trying to encourage people to cheat? AND there are, what, 9 HUGE books written? Pls explain to me what the hell is going on that it requires 9×800+ pages of books. NOPE.

A MOVIE OR TV SHOW THAT WAS BETTER THAN THE BOOK

I don’t like (neither do I have the time) to watch movies or tv shows. Gasp. Did you just say I’m lifeless?

This was so much fun to do! I tag you if you want to do it. 🙂

Join the Discussion

