Book Review: It Happened One Wedding (FBI/US Attorney #5) By Julie James

18136549Synopsis

SHE KNOWS BETTER THAN TO SAY “I DO”

After a humiliating end to her engagement, investment banker Sidney Sinclair is done with commitment-phobic men. But when her sister winds up engaged after a whirlwind courtship, she’s thrown in to close contact with exactly the kind of sexy playboy she wants to avoid—the gorgeous best man. She’s stuck with him, for better or worse, until her sister walks down the aisle, but that doesn’t mean she has to give in to his smooth advances, no matter how tempting they are… 

BUT HE MAKES IT HARD TO SAY “I DON’T”

Special Agent Vaughn Roberts always gets his man on the job and his woman in bed. So Sidney’s refusal to fall for his charms only makes him more determined to win over the cool and confident redhead. Only what starts out as a battle of wills ends up as a serious play for her heart. Because the one woman who refuses to be caught may be the only one Vaughn can’t live without…

Rating: ★★★★

Even though this book is part of a series, every book has a plot of its own. The characters from the previous book do appear in the one after, though.

After loving the first three and the 4th being kinda meh, this one made me fall back in love with the series head first. I rarely read books of the romance genre but when I do it’s either historical or a Julie James one. James’s writing style is amazing, her characters are so real and wow that lady writes romance like no other.

Also that cover is so freaking gorgeous and those heels oh my god they are so sparkly. Can someone please buy me a pair??

PLOT
Vaughn starred in some of the previous books, especially the 4th where he was more prominent because Cade, the hero, is his best friend. He was the ilovealltheladies type and mercilessly teased Cade when he got serious with Brooke. I never thought he’d get his own book because hello this is Vaughn we are talking about and he’d never reform. But get his own book he did and I loooved it.

Vaughn first meets Sidney at a coffee shop after he witnesses her have a rather unfortunate date, He tries to flirt with her because hey no lady has ever told him no before. Sydney, of course, recognizing him for the womanizer that he is, shoots him down (figuratively) and leaves to go meet her newly engaged sister and fiancé. Vaughn, on the other hand, conveniently shrugs off the rejection and goes to meet his brother and fiancée. Then he sees Sidney sitting at the table with his brother and bride-to-be. I was giggling at this point and I’m not one prone to giggling. Their siblings ask them to be their maid of honor and best man and so the bickering/fights/verbal wars begin.

The only thing that I have to complain about is that anti-climatic end. I expected to have more action because Vaughn is FBI but I guess no book is perfect.

CHARACTERS
Both Vaughn and Sidney have strong personalities so their relationship wasn’t easy.

They also had absolutely hilarious mental voices.

So what? He was a very handsome man; he’s look cute standing next to a toaster.

Why yes Sidney, Vaughn is gorgeous tyvm for noticing 😆

VAUGHN OMG CAN YOU MARRY ME??????
sigh
sigh
sigh

Things I LOVE about Vaughn Roberts:

  • sense of humor
  • abs
  • he’s such a romantic
  • abs
  • wit
  • abs
  • can control his feelings
  • abs
  • stubble
  • abs

wow I’m so shallow. teehee. shrug. If loving his abs is wrong then I don’t want to be right. 😉

I felt that he deserved someone much better than Sidney. Someone who would love him and not spend half (more like 75%) of the story searching for another man. Although now that I think about it, if that hadn’t happened he wouldn’t have changed.

I won’t say he is a perfect guy. He isn’t supposed to be flawless and he wasn’t but you still love him with those flaws and I think that that is the most important thing.

And ugh it broke my heart when he was in love with her and she just kept on going out with different men. I feel ya bro I feel ya. *starts feeling Vaughn everywhere*

Vaughn sat there for a moment, feeling a pang of something sharp in his chest. But then he shoved the feelings deep down blocking them out and putting them in a place where he could pretend they didn’t even exist.

I also loved his mum and his relationship with her!

“Mom. Hi,” he said, turning. “I was just…admiring the chandelier.”

I didn’t really like Sidney behavior throughout the book. Yes she had an unpleasant experience with tying the knot before but the way she behaved grated on my nerves. She annoyed me. A lot. Like a lot lot. You don’t sleep with the guy and then go out on a date with another the next day. You just don’t. And how the can you do that to Vaughn??? He’s such a sweety 😥

look, for example, when they were dancing.

Instead of answering, he simply began humming along with the song as they danced.

How cute it that??? Come here Vaughn let my hug youuuu

Or here, when he sang her the song that was playing during the aforementioned dance

“‘You smiled…and then the spell was cast.'”

Sing to me babe sing to me.

Many of the characters from the previous books appeared and I just wanted to run and embrace them and pet all the hot men and hug the gorgeous ladies. Did I mention pet the hot men????

Bottom Line

I loved this book. I love Vaughn and his hilarious sense of humor and also his heart and his body and him *vague hand gestures* as a whole.

You know what? I love Julie James. AND SHE HAS A NEW BOOK ABOUT FORD LIKE ASDFGHJKL I NEED IT SO BAD!!!

Pls go read this right now. Like. Right now.

Join the Discussion

