Book Review: The Soul Thief (Angel Of Death #1) By Majanka Verstraete

23168992Synopsis

When sixteen-year-old Riley is injured in a car crash and sees a girl stealing a boy’s soul, she’s convinced she’s hallucinating. But when she sees the same girl at the hospital later, she knows she wasn’t dreaming. That’s when Riley learns her secret heritage and who she really is: a halfling Angel of Death.

Riley must come to terms with her new reality and supernatural abilities, but before she can do this, girls her age start dying in mysterious circumstances. It’s up to Riley to figure out why, what the innocent victims have in common, and what she can do to stop them. 

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

Rating: ★★ ★ ★  

PLOT

Riley sees a girl collecting the soul of a kid during a massive car crash and believes it was a hallucination. That argument was shot down when the same girl appears again while Riley is in the hospital being treated for her injuries from the car crash. Humans aren’t supposed to see Angels of Death and the girl, Diane, takes Riley to see the Council, where she learns that she is Halfling Angel of Death. Most of the Council votes on executing her, but then a lady called Seraphyn vetos the decision and orders Diane to take her to the Guardian, Leander. Leander proceeds to break the barrier around Riley’s mind so she can use her powers and promises her to start training her as soon as possible. It all goes well until teenage girls start dying for no apparent reason. Riley feels that these killings are somehow related to her and after some investigation, it appears that, indeed, she is right. No one knows how and why those girls are dying, or who is killing them. There is only one thing Riley knows, though. She has to stop this killer. No matter what.

THOUGHTS

In the beginning, I was skeptical about the book. Sure, the synopsis sounded great but the writing style was nothing special. I ploughed through the first three chapters because I was interested in what was happening. Then, for the life of me, I could’t put it down. Once Verstraete got the hang of writing this book, the writing style became a lot better.

Nothing of what happened was predictable (except the identity of the Soul Thief. I sooo saw that coming) and I was pleasantly surprised by the way things unraveled.

On the other hand, there is a list of things that diminished my enjoyment of the book.

The amount of ‘as if’ used in here is ridiculous. It was in every page and every paragraph and I almost cried.

My voice sounded hoarse, as if I hadn’t spoken in weeks.

There was something dangerous about her, as if she was a lion.

She shrugged her shoulders, as if letting go of a painful burden.

Her eyes were red and swollen, as if she’d been crying.

These are but a few examples. Why anyone would need to use ‘as if’ so many times is beyond me

Riley’s wings are another thing. She gets them (yay!) in the last 10% of the book and all we get to read is her folding them. WHY NO MORE STUFF ABOUT HER WINGS WHYYYY??

And Diane, who is the first supernatural character we meet, rarely appears. I want to see a lot more of her. Hopefully that’ll happen in the next book.

Also sometimes the character conversations weren’t completely believable and sounded like a bad TV show. I want to post examples here but I have no idea how to copy from adobe digital editions 😦

CHARACTERS

Riley

Riley isn’t one of those omgsheissospecialandstrongblablabla characters. THANK YOU, VERSTRAETE. I was so ready for her to be overpowered and she wasn’t and omg here are my happy tears. By the end of the book, she was strong but it didn’t happen with a snap of her fingers. She trained so hard and she deserved the power she acquired. Another trait I admired so so much is that she prizes her friends over everything. Well done, Riley. You are now one my fav heroines. 😉

Leander

I’m very meh about him. I didn’t particularly like him since the beginning and him not being able to hear Riley’s help calls, even though it appears not to be his fault, didn’t make me like him any better.

Michelle

This young lady is one awesome friend. During the middle of the book, my feelings toward her weren’t very nice but she more than redeemed herself later on and now I really like her!

Katie

Complete opposite with what happened between me and Michelle. I liked Katie throughout the whole book then the way she behaved in the end got on my nerves.

Craig

I found him too girly. Like, I get he’s gay but it was a bit over-played .

Gran

I loooove Gran! She is funny, caring, and she reminded me of my own grandma a lot. Plus, she is a witch. I’ve always had a thing for witches.

Bottom Line

We had a rocky start but I ended up really enjoying this book. Riley is awesome and I’m so excited for the rest of the series to come out! Can I have more wings please? And that sky replica ceiling in the Council room? And Diane?????

Recommended for: People who want strong female characters who actually develop through out the book.

Join the Discussion

