Book Review: The Robber Knight By Robert Thier

22028061

Title: The Robber Knight

Author: Robert Thier

Publication Date: April 29th, 2014

Format: E-Book

 When you are fighting for the freedom of your people, falling in love with your enemy is not a great idea.Sir Reuben, the dreaded robber knight, has long been Ayla’s deadliest enemy. She swore he would hang for his crimes. Now they are both trapped in her castle as the army of a far greater enemy approaches, and they have only one chance: stand together, or fall.
Welcome to “The Robber Knight”—a tale full of action, adventure, and romance.

★★★★★

YAY THIS IS THE FIRST FIVE STAR RATING ON THE BLOG!

I’ve been really bitchy in my past few book reviews so I stopped for a second, took a deep breath to cleanse myself from all the bad books I’ve been reading recently and said “You know what? Now I’m going to review a book that I like for a change.”

And this book just popped in my mind.

So, like, just trust me on this one, okay? You need this book in your life.

This book started out on Wattpad and it’s still there even though it’s published now. For those of you who would rather read the free version first/don’t have a credit card you, can check it here. But I still urge you to buy it because there are stuff added about Reuben’s past in the published edition.

And no, this isn’t a sponsored post. Robert hasn’t paid me or even asked me to promote his book.

PLOT

No one can envy Ayla, Lady of Luntberg, for her current situation. Between choosing to marry the Margrave von Falkenstein who is known for his mercilessness and cruelty or engaging in a hopeless war with him, her future appears to be very bleak. Raged that the Margrave would think that she would bow to his wants, she picks up the gauntlet and accepts the feud.

On her way back from informing her people of the impending war, Sir Reuben, better known to the world as The Robber Knight, robs her of her beloved mare Eleanor and everything else. He leaves her in the middle of the forest and Ayla swears that she will see him hang for his insult. If only I were there. I would’ve told her not to be too hasty and swear oaths she won’t keep 😉  

Sir Reuben, on the other hand, is feeling as pleased with himself as a cat who has found a huge bowl of cream. Then he checks the contents of the saddlebag that he stole from Ayla and decides to get away from the area as far as possible. He comes across the Margrave’s men on his way, and when they ask him to surrender he takes them all on at once where he manages to kill most of them before he gets severely injured. The remaining men believe he’s dead and take his armor and horses (his own horse and Eleanor). To his luck, Ayla and her soldiers, who had came searching for her, hear the fight and go to investigate. They search for survivors and they find Reuben barely alive. Ayla, not recognizing him as the armored man who robbed her, asks her soldiers to carry him to Luntberg Castle so she can try to heal him. Once Reuben is awake, saying he’s surprised to see Ayla again is an understatement. And when he learns that she is the Lady of the castle he is certain that if she knew his true identity she will order his execution. So he doesn’t tell her the truth.

Will Ayla know that Reuben is The Robber Knight? And what will happen when she does?            

THOUGHTS

I don’t think words can give my feels for this book justice. I started reading this story since the first chapter that Robert posted on wattpad and it was love at first chapter. I loved the plot and wow that first chapter showed Ayla at her finest. I love rereading books and every time I reread the first chapter I still feel the thrill of it.

The romance is slow because this book has other things to focus about (like an impending war for example) but don’t let that deter you. There is plenty of chemistry between the two characters and even though I’m not one who is usually a fan of slow romance, I was never annoyed.

I love the historical aspect included. It gives everything an authentic feel and it shows how much research Robert did to bring all these facts to life. I especially liked the war tactics and siege plans. I’M SO BLOODTHIRSTY.

CHARACTERS

Ayla

Despite her young age, Ayla carries the weight of her people on her shoulders. She doesn’t bulk under the huge responsibility that she has. She is so brave that even though she knows that she will most likely be defeated she never gives up and always always puts the needs of her people before hers.

Reuben

When we first meet Reuben, he is selfish, rude, sarcastic, and ruthless. He stays all those things but he becomes loving as well. He becomes 6’7 of love all directed towards Ayla and that pretty much melted my heart.

Bottom Line

This book is one of my favorites. Ayla is no damsel in distress (although that doesn’t stop Reuben from trying to protect her 24/7) and while she does act like a daft person sometimes it’s totally believable because let’s be serious, we all would be if we were in her position. Reuben is my love for eternity and Ayla if you hurt him I’LL HURT YOU.

Check out the second book in the series, The Robber Knight’s Love, on wattpad. You totally have to read that one too because the cliffhanger that book one ends with is realllyyyyy asdfghjkl 😉 (more about cliffhangers in my upcoming interview with Robert!)

Recommended to: Historical fiction lovers and all the ladies who love a swoon worthy hero.

Join the Discussion

