Book Review: My Unfair Godmother (My Fair Godmother #2) by Janette Rallison

 

8364977Title: My Unfair Godmother

Author: Janette Rallison

Publication Date: April 12th, 2011

Format: Paperback

Tansy Miller has always felt that her divorced father has never had enough time for her. But mistakenly getting caught on the wrong side of the law wasn’t exactly how she wanted to get his attention. Enter Chrysanthemum “Chrissy” Everstar, Tansy’s fairy in shining, er, high heels. Chrissy is only a fair godmother, of course, so Tansy’s three wishes don’t exactly go according to plan. And if bringing Robin Hood to the twenty-first century isn’t bad enough for Tansy, being transported back to the Middle Ages to deal with Rumpelstiltskin certainly is. She’ll need the help of her blended family, her wits, and especially the cute police chief’s son to stop
the gold-spinning story from spinning wildly out of control. Janette Rallison pulls out all the stops in this fresh, fun-filled follow-up to the popular My Fair Godmother.

 

five stars

[Even though this book is part of a series, you don’t have to read the first book to understand this one.]

This review took my some time to write. I wrote and erased and then I wrote again. I went over over each and every word like 8765.54 times because I wanted this review to be perfect and I wanted it to measure at least a bit to the awesomeness of the book. I don’t know if I achieved that. I hope so.

Thoughts

I was going through my book reviews repertoire when I noticed that there was something wrong.

I was shocked.

I was flabbergasted.

I had this urgent conversation with myself:

Me: Really, J? You don’t have a review for your favorite book of all time? You call yourself a book reviewer? Pfft.
Me: uhhh…uhhmmm………………
Me: The hell are you still doing here? go write one right nowwwww!!!!

Yes, you read that right. This is my favorite book. Ever.

This book is about forgiveness and about how it’s okay to make mistakes as long as you learn from them. It’s about how it’s okay to fall down as long as you stand up again. It’s about second chances. And most important of all, it’s about learning to love again.

Tansy pretty much makes mistakes throughout the whole book. She makes bad wishes and sometimes she’s selfish and she is always in bad situations but she stood up again. And again. And again. She learned that happiness doesn’t come from waiting for things to come to you. You want happiness? You go and you grab it yourself. Your future is your own. You can either choose to have a bright future or you can choose to muck it around and call it ‘fate’.

The MC usually makes or breaks a book for me and I really liked Tansy. I actually loved the whole cast. They are so real and so are their issues. I never once had to shake my head because the situation the characters were in was unbelievable.

I re-read it at least once a month and every time I do I discover new things. I read it when I’m in a bad mood and when I’ve had too much reality and when I simply want to smile. Whenever I read this book I feel like I can do anything. I feel happy. I feel like if I put my mind to it I can reach my goals and dreams, because that’s what Tansy did. She got everything she wanted. And if Tansy did it, then by God, so can I.

I won’t say that my copy is battered because it’s not. I only recently got the paperback as I first had it as an ebook because of my budget restraints but then I found both books in the series for an awesome price and I jumped at the chance. However, I can proudly tell you that my copy is dogeared every couple of pages and that it has highlights everywhere. So if I continue that way I’ll have a battered copy sooooon!

(And yes I’m one of those people who crack the spine and highlight in the book and dogear and use the weirdest things as bookmarks. Show the books some love, people.)

CHARACTERS

Tansy

At the beginning of the story Tansy was a misguided teen. She thought that her dad and his new family didn’t want her (it certainly felt that way more than once ) and she did her best to defy and annoy them. Throughout her adventures in the middle ages she transforms to a totally different person. Being with her as she took every step towards the right direction was spectacular.

Hudson

Hudson is dependable, independent, and handsome. At times he was seriously infuriating, but then again, all boys are.

Hudson isn’t simply the love interest. He has a story of his own (no mysterious past or bad boy syndrome here) and it’s weaved into the story in such a beautiful way. Sometimes I read the part where Tansy fixed everything and I’m hit by feels that make me unable to talk.

Chrissy

If you ever wish for a fairy godmother, you better hope that she’s nothing like Chrissy. She’s a lousy godmother and if you are in trouble don’t expect her to come and help you as she’ll most likely be having a manicure. For some reason though, you can’t hate her. Yes, you roll your eyes at her behavior and sometimes you feel like you want to smack her but she’s likable and you simply can’t swear at her and really mean it.

Bottom Line

This book is great. It’s more than great. I don’t think that my feeble attempts to describe it did it the justice it needs and deserves but I had to get this review out so other people can know of this book and read it and that it will, hopefully, affect them just as much as it affected me.

Recommended to: Everyone and anyone.

Join the Discussion

