Book Review: Suddenly One Summer by Julie James

Title: Suddenly One Summer

Author: Julie James

Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015

Format: E-book

From the New York Times bestselling author of It Happened One Wedding comes a novel about a man and a woman whose summer is about to get very, very steamy…

Divorce lawyer Victoria Slade has seen enough unhappy endings to swear off marriage forever. That doesn’t mean she’s opposed to casual dating—just not with her cocky new neighbor, who is as gorgeous and tempting as he is off-limits. But once she agrees to take on his sister’s case, she’s as determined to win as ever—even if that means teaming up with Ford…

Investigative journalist Ford Dixon is bent on finding the man who got his sister pregnant and left her high and dry. He’s willing to partner with Victoria, despite the fact that the beautiful brunette gets under his skin like no other woman. He might not be looking to settle down, but there’s no denying the scorching attraction between them. Still, the more time he spends with Victoria, the more he realizes that the one woman as skeptical about love as he is might be the only woman he could really fall for…

★★★★☆

Thoughts

Julie James is pretty much the only contemporary author that I read. I had almost given up on the contemporary genre before I came upon her books. I don’t know what it is about her, wait no actually I do know: she has this wonderful style, humorous and snarky and real and that increases my love for her the more books she publishes. I’ve read all her books and will continue to read them because her books are everything that a book should be.

Needless to say, I loved this book. ( True, it’s not my favorite James book and it seems that that spot will forever be reserved to About That Night. Actually the first three books in the FBI/US attorney series are my favorite but this book is directly after them.) This was the first time I read a contemporary book that hits home as close as this one did. Not that my father left us and my mum tried  to commit suicide (THANK GOD) but the anxiety and panic attacks that Victoria suffered from are a lot similar to the ones I often have .

AND THE COVER OMG JAMES ALWAYS MANAGES TO GET THE BEST COVERS OUT THERE! I love the dress (that color is absolutely gorgeous) and the heels omg can someone buy me those.

As a side note, I should mention that this book is a standalone and not a part of the FBI/ US attorney series.

Character Analysis

Ford

Ford, wherefore art thou so cute? Wherefore art thou so perfect?

I love you, Ford. Please marry me.

#jinanhaslosthermind

I loved his protective streak. it was so adorable to see a grown man, who liked to appear unflappable, worry so much about his sister and niece. Hell, he even started to worry about Victoria once they became close. His “worrying” is not to be confused with anxiety disorder. He simply wanted the people he loved to be okay.

Ford shrugged. “I thought my sister could use a night out with her friends, so I offered to babysit.”

Hearing that, something inside her softened.

That was a sweet thing to do for his sister. Really sweet.

Victoria

I really understood her want to appear okay all the time. I understood her fear of being embarrassed in public. It’s not that uncommon that I find myself stuck in uncomfortable situations and I clench my hands and smooth my face and fight my way out of it with sarcasm and, often times, snide remarks. I know the feeling of wanting to be in control. I know the panic when that control starts to slip. The erratic heartbeats. The pressing confines of feeling stuck and unable to escape. The lump of fear that grips your throat when you are stuck and don’t know what to do. I understood what she was going through and I sympathized with her because I understood.

Bottom Line

This hasn’t quite reached up to take a position in my top three favorite James books, but it’s certainly one of her best ones. I loved Ford and his personality. Victoria was freaking hilarious and I found myself to be able to connect with her pretty well. Julie James has, as usual, made me fall in love with a contemporary book. And that’s no easy thing to do. I love you and I can’t wait for your next book!

Recommended to: lovers of contemporary with extremely funny and easy-to-connect-with characters.

Join the Discussion

