Book Review: Let the Sky Fall (Sky Fall #1) by Shannon Messenger


Title: Let the Sky Fall

Author: Shannon Messenger

Publication Date: March 5th, 2013

Format: E-book

Vane Weston should have died in the category-five tornado that killed his parents. Instead, he woke up in a pile of rubble with no memories of his past – except one: a beautiful, dark-haired girl standing in the winds. She swept through his dreams ever since, and he clings to the hope that she’s real.Audra is real, but she isn’t human. She’s a sylph, an air elemental who can walk on the wind, translate its alluring songs, even twist it into a weapon. She’s also a guardian – Vane’s guardian – and has sworn an oath to protect him at all costs.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both their families, Audra has just days to help Vane unlock his memories. And as the storm winds gather, Audra and Vane start to realize that the greatest danger might not be the warriors coming to destroy them, but the forbidden romance growing between them.

★★★☆☆

Thoughts

This book kinda snuck up on me while I was unaware. I started reading it because as I was reading Vengeance Road, I picked up another book but said book didn’t really attract me either so before I almost threw my hands up in frustration, I saw this book on my shelf and I was like, “What the heck, lets add a third book into this mess.”

I didn’t expect this book to get my attention tbh. When I’m having one of these spells, not exactly a reading slump but I’m not gobbling down the books around me either, I often start books that I end up never finishing and then I regret it later because I know that on a normal day that book would have kept me reading and I just, uughh, I just ruined a perfectly fine book for myself because I usually don’t pick the discarded book again after I’m back to my normal mood.

Phew I got all worked up for a second.

But let’s have a look at my goodreads Currently Reading list.

Untitled

First, I was reading Stormdancer and I was realllllyyyy enjoying it. Then, and because I’m an idiot, I went and checked out spoilers for the last book in the series. I was terribly saddened by what the spoiler-y reviews said and I decided not to continue reading the series after finishing the book. BAHAHA. Little did I know that I won’t be finishing the book itself. So after a few days of sulking over Stormdancer, I picked up Vengeance Road. I’ve been waiting for Vengeance Road for months and was super excited to read it. I reached 64% before, bam, my I-Want-To-Start-A-New-Book syndrome hit me again. I won’t say a lot about VR now because I’m writing a separate review for it, but let’s simply say that if I were really loving it, I wouldn’t have wanted to pick up a new book before I’m done with it. The poor book that I chose after VR is The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra. I’ve been meaning to read this for some time now because the copy that I have is a review copy. But once again, it failed to entertain me. It’s a good book, don’t get me wrong. It’s set in India so you can expect tons of cultural diversity there but it just didn’t soothe the itch that I had. The Night Circus is an audiobook so it doesn’t really count.

lol I just noticed that I’m more than 500 words in and there is still nothing about my thoughts for this book.

So yeah. Due to all the drama that I mentioned above, I was honestly expecting myself to just read a few pages of this book before metaphorically throwing it over my shoulder and ploughing ahead to another book, even though this book has been on my tbr forevah. But that didn’t happen. The book sucked me right in.

I loved the idea. These days, the only two mystical creatures in fantasy books are werewolfs and vampires and this book busted out that trope. I’m now super interested in sylphs and I want to read more books about them.

I love the idea of being able to control the winds. I actually like the whole “elemental magic” things in books, thus my love for Percy Jackson. The elemental magic was done extremely well and I so enjoyed experiencing Vane’s lessons. It was really great that the lessons were actually shown and not glossed over. It made his transition so much more believable. I also really appreciated that Vane wasn’t do bloody good at it from the beginning. He had to practice and put in a lot of effort. It made me like him even more.

However, I found the faults in this book to be glaring. The writing style wasn’t anything special, and since that aspect is really important for me, I found myself not really focusing on the words sometimes. Another thing is that during the first half, maybe even more than half, barely anything was happening. All the action was crammed into the last few chapters. Yes, that made the book unputdownable once I reached those chapters, but it also made my head hurt. There was simply too much going on.

I hated the ending. I HATED it. It was lacking and so ugh I just wanted to start swearing really bad. Alas, I managed to get a hold of myself before I destroyed anything. Yes I can be really violent sometimes. Books bring the worst in me.

Character Analysis

Vane

This guy is freaking hilarious. Which is great because I’m a sucker for guys with a sense of humor. (In fact, the only boy I ever (humor me and let me be British for a bit) fancied had the most delicious sense of humor to ever exist.) He always managed to say something that had me laughing.

“Right. And I’m not human. Still getting used to that, by the way. Kind of a big, life-changing thing, just so you know.”

Even when they were in the middle of the battle, he was STILL funny.

“Let. Me. Go.” I know it’s a stupid thing to say, but I’m pretty sure every hostage has to scream it at some point.

Audra

I didn’t particularly like her. She was annoying, hypocritical, and stubborn. She changed her mind every five seconds and I got tired of her conflicting feelings and thoughts towards Vane. Like dude, you either like him or you don’t. Stop with all the drama.

Bottom Line

This book had both good and bad sides. I loved the good sides (the wind controlling aspect of the book, Vane and his parents), but at the same time, the things that annoyed me really annoyed me (Audra, the ending). I also didn’t ship Vane and Audra together, but for Vane’s sake I wanted her to return his feelings. Because of this, I’m not sure if this is a series I’m going to continue reading.

Recommended to: People who like elemental magic and hilarious male leads.

Join the Discussion

