Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publication Date: September 1st, 2015

Format: E-Book

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

★★★☆☆

Let me tell you how a girl called Jinan spent one whole day thinking about how many stars to give this book. Listen carefully, dear reader, because it’s a true story.

Okay. So. After Jinan finished reading this book, she was conflicted. She enjoyed reading the book. She thought it was interesting and that the idea was new and she finished the book really fast. But for some reason, she couldn’t decide on how many stars to give it. She liked the book so it was definitely not a 1 or 2 star read. However, it was not a 5 star read either. 3 stars? 3.5? 4? After spending all of her astronomy lecture thinking about it, she decided that the book didn’t deserve 4 stars; she had liked the book, not loved it. At last, and after overthinking this rating issue, she ended up giving Everything, Everything 3 stars.

The End.

Thoughts

First and foremost, please give yourself a pat on the back if you have read this far.

Now on to the review.

I loved the way the story was told in. The chapters were short, some only a few sentences long. Most of them were about her relationship with Olly and that helped in showing how Olly was the only interesting thing that was going on in Maddy’s life. Some chapters were only tables and diagrams. That made it all more interesting and fun to read. It also had me flipping the pages storm speed. I finished the book in maybe 3 hours???

This book also had that diversity that the book community has been craving for. Maddy was not only an asian-african blend, but she was also ill. We don’t really get a lot of MCs with diseases in YA. And when we do, they are terminally ill and the story is heart-wrenchingly sad and depressing. YA authors think that in order to leave an impression on readers, they have to show them that life is tragic and that there is nothing called “happy ending”. I follow John Green on YouTube and I remember watching a video for him where he says the way TFIOS ended was not a tragedy and that things like that happen in real life and that life isn’t all rainbows and ponies. But that’s the whole point, isn’t it? Why would you incorporate life’s darker aspects into a novel? People are getting enough of the crappy reality every day. Why do some authors decide to ruin the fictional world for us too? I haven’t read TFIOS and I won’t read it. I don’t need to be depressed for the next 100000 years thankyouverymuch.

Please don’t misunderstand what I’m saying though. I’m not naive to think that we live in a perfect world. I KNOW that life isn’t all rainbows and ponies. I KNOW that life can be crappy. But, and in the words of Jenn Bennett, sometimes you don’t need to cry your eyes out. People live. The nerdy kid sometimes wins the girl. The couple does stay together. Sad endings aren’t more intelligent. (I took these lines from an interview that Jenny Duffy, a fellow blogger, did with Jenn Bennett, author of The Anatomical Shape of a Heart. Credit goes to her. I loooved the interview and if you want to check it out, here’s the link!)

I had a lot of issues with this book with the characters being on the very top on that list. I didn’t like Maddy and Olly a lot and I’ll touch on that in the character analysis part. Also this book was a lot more focused on the romance. Another thing was the ending.

Spoiler

Maddy ending up not being actually ill felt like an easy way for Olly and Maddy to be together.

It was nice that they ended up as a couple. As I mentioned above, I didn’t really like Maddy and Olly, but I was still happy for them.

(I had a long list of things that annoyed me but now I completely forgot them because it’s been a while since I’ve finished this book. 😦 )

Character Analysis

Madeline

Maddy got on my nerves a lot. I did understand why she she wouldn’t tell her mum about Olly, but that didn’t make her behavior any less annoying. Her relationship with Olly progressed so fast for someone who has lived inside a house all her life. I could’t believe that she slept with him after knowing him for so little time. It doesn’t actually make sense; she has NEVER stepped out of her house before. She doesn’t have any firsthand knowledge about life. And when she goes out of her house (AT LAST) one of the first things she does is get laid. Yes, she does actually go to “holiday” and she does some things but I think she only waited for a day????? before jumping into bed with him. I don’t think that that’s how things would work out in real life. If I were in her position I would need AT LEAST two week for the novelty of the world around me to wear off.

Olly

I didn’t get what Maddy saw him. Sure, he was cute and he made Maddy (and admittedly me) laugh, but I didn’t fall in love with him myself. I didn’t think he was swoonworthy. He was a regular teenage boy with a crush on a girl who he was trying to impress. Nothing special.

Bottom Line

Not a meh read because I did enjoy it, but it won’t be on my favorite books I read in 2015 list either. The way it’s written in made me enjoy it a lot more than if it were written in a regular prose.

Recommended to: Those who want a really quick read that will make you smile, giggle, and think. 

Join the Discussion

