October 2015 wrap-up

Greetings readers. As you well know, I’ve always complained about contemporary books. I used to find them shallow and stupid with stupid MCs (eg: Anna and the French Kiss). Contemporary was the genre that I read the least from and I was okay with that. This month, however, things changed.

I was in a bad shape mentally (there will be a confession post about my anxiety disorder soon) and all I wanted was to take my mind off things. So I binge read contemporary books. And boy am I glad that I did that. I giggled and squealed and swooned and sighed and now I’m feeling so much better.

I was pleasantly surprised because none of the books I read were shallow and stupid. Not one of them. They were all fluffy reads, make no mistake, but they all had depth and MCs that were so relatable and I enjoyed myself very very much.

I wrote short reviews for those books on goodreads because I didn’t feel like it’s right to dissect each and every aspect of them.  Fluffy books should be taken as a whole package. I wonder if I should start posting those short reviews here. Maybe I’ll have a separate sub-tag for them. Hmmm. Let’s see.

Books I read 

The Weight of Feathers: Loooooved this one. See book review here

First & Then: Such a fluffy and cute read. I enjoyed this one so, so much that I just had to write a review despite what I claimed above about reviewing fluffy reads. Review here.

Beastly Bones: JACKABY BOOK 2. YES YES YES. Book review heeeerreeee.

Smart Girls Get What They Want: I just finished this one yesterday. I can’t describe how much I enjoyed it.

The Art of Lainey: The male lead in this one is so drool.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight: This one has been on my TBR since forevah. It was nice. Not nearly as good as the others but I still enjoyed it.

Everything, Everything: Book review here. It explains all my feelings towards this one.

The Fill-In Boyfriend: omgomgomg.this.book. KASIE WEST I LOVE YOU.

Catching Jordan: 2 WORDS. SPORTS MC.

A Madness so Discreet: Had wayy too high hopes for this one and was kinda disappointed. Book review soon.

Books I DNFd

17575391

The Dragon, the Thief, and the Princess: this one was an ARC and I was super excited to get it but uggh I hated it. The writing was choppy and the atmosphere was so cold and distant. meh.

November TBR

Red Queen: I’ve already started this one but stopped because of midterms. Will have to pick it up again.

Hello?: ARC


Soooo have you read any of these books?

3 thoughts on “October 2015 wrap-up

  1. rathertoofondofbooks October 31, 2015 / 1:15 pm

    Wow what a great reading month, and a great wrap up post! I really enjoyed reading it. I love the sound of The Weight of Feathers, I think I might add that to my wishlist. I have quite a few of the books you’ve read on my TBR already and you’ve really made me want to get to them faster. 🙂

    • Jinan October 31, 2015 / 8:09 pm

      YOU ARE THE SWEETEST. and yes, you must add The Weight of Feathers. it’s a great read.

      • rathertoofondofbooks October 31, 2015 / 8:24 pm

        I’ve added it to my wishlist, it’s not out in the UK for a couple of weeks but I definitely plan on getting it! 🙂

Join the Discussion

