Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel

jinansbookistry

This is a Top Ten Tuesday post which originated at The Broke and the Bookish. For more topics/information about how to participate, please click here.

Bonjour mes amies! I hope you are all as excited about today’s TTT as much as me 🙂 I love reading debuts. I get to dip my toes in new waters and that’s crazy fun. And who knows, I might gain a new favorite author by the end of the day.

Sharon Huss Roat, author of Between the Notes

Loved the book and the writing style.so.effing.much (book review)

Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything

Even though this book only got 3 stars from me, I still enjoyed the way the story was written. If she writes more books like that I’m sold. (book review)

Anna-Marie McLamore, author of The Weight of Feathers

UGH LOVE LOVE LOVE HER STYLE. (book review)

Sally Slater, author of Paladin

Paladin was awesome! I want more books in that world! (book review)

Robert Thier, author of The Robber Knight

I love Robert Thier. His heroines are kickass and his heroes are sooo swoonworthy. I need book 2 to get published. NOW. (book review & author interview)

TBH, even though I love reading debuts, I haven’t read a lot of them. There were a LOT of debuts this year but for some reason or the other I haven’t picked them up yet and I’ll have to rectify that soon. PINKY PROMISE. Now though, and since I really want to complete the list, I decided that I’m going to include authors who have written more than one book but are currently/I want them to start working on books outside of the single series that they have worked on since debuting. In Jinan’s world, that’s still considered a sophomore novel because it’s a whole new world and sometimes even a whole new genre. K?

Tahereh Mafi, author of Shatter Me

She has a new book coming in 2016!!

Marissa Meyer, author of Cinder

I’m.so.pumped.for.Heartless

Amy Tintera, author of Reboot

I loooved her Reboot series and her new book was my WOW post a few weeks ago.

Christopher Paolini, author of Eragon

Chris is working on a sci-fi now!!! I don’t usually pick up sci-fi but I’ll read anything for him.

William Ritter, author of Jackaby

He is currently writing Jackaby number 3 but I so want him to dabble into new worlds. (book review for Jackaby number 2, Beastly Bones)


have you read any book for these authors? are you waiting for their sophomore novels too?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel

  1. ChrissiReads November 3, 2015 / 10:07 am

    I’m also really looking forward to Nicola Yoon’s sophomore novel!

    • Jinan November 4, 2015 / 8:39 am

      high fivvvvveeeee

  2. Marie November 3, 2015 / 11:14 am

    I read Paladin earlier this year, and she’s working on the sequel, I too am really looking forward to it.

    My TTT: Marie @ Pages to Explore

    • Jinan November 4, 2015 / 8:41 am

      it’s awesome, right? I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL.

  3. Carrie November 4, 2015 / 2:14 am

    I still need to start Cinder but wow – what a wildly popular debut series for her!! My TTT

    • Jinan November 4, 2015 / 8:42 am

      yes you really need to start it! It’s ridiculously good and it deserves all the hype it’s getting 🙂

    • Jinan November 5, 2015 / 8:32 am

      I’M SO PUMPED

Join the Discussion

