Top Ten Things I’m Thankful for

jinansbookistry

This is a Top Ten Tuesday post which originated at The Broke and the Bookish. For more topics/information about how to participate, please click here.

I’ve been meaning to join in on the thankful tag on instagram for a while now but somehow I always forget. So even though we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving where I live, I still jumped at the chance to list the things I’m most thankful for.

  • Being able to reading and write

So many people around the world still don’t know how to read and write. Reading and writing are a big part of my life and I can’t imagine myself not knowing how to do any of them.

  • My books

I wouldn’t be half the person I am now without my books. They taught me so many things They were with me when no one was. They held my hands when no one did. They kept me company during the darkest of my times. Many of them have pages where the ink was smudged with my tears.

6cf145e7c8d74487d860fe63f9f1d0cb Thank you for sticking with me, beloved friends. Please continue sticking with me.

  • My baking skills

Baking is a form of therapy to me. I have anxiety disorder (wrote a long post about it here) and baking is how I unwind the stress and anxiety and all that crap. Also, it helps that I’m good at it and that I get to feed my family tasty food 😉

  • Physical health

If you have two eyes that fully function, two ears that you can hear properly with, a heart that beats with no complications, a liver, ten fingers, ten toes, two kidneys, a body that is healthy, you should be infinitely grateful. I’m so grateful that I’m physically healthy. So grateful. So so grateful. I might not have the best mental health out there but at least I know that those feelings are all in my head unlike those who have physical ailments that endanger their lives and won’t really go away. Thank you God, for making me whole.

  • My family

I’m incredibly grateful for my family in general and my parents in particular. They stood with me and had my back through thick and thin. They never gave up on me when I gave up on myself during my 2009-2012 depression period. They encouraged me to stand up again. They helped me steel my heart. They didn’t force my university major on me like a lot of my friends whose parents dedicated their future studies. They gave up a lot to be able to put my siblings and me in the best schools they can afford and when it was time for me to enroll in university, they helped me search for the best one that our money can get even though that meant a tighter budget. We aren’t poor. Don’t think I’m saying that. We are definitely middle class but, as you noticed, my parents put a lot of emphasis on education so most of the money goes to the posh school my siblings are in, and now, to my university as well.

I hope that, one day, I’ll be able to give them even half of what they have given me.

  • My uni professors

For being kind and helpful and funny and supportive and lovely and for the inside jokes and the smiles and the boosting of my self esteem and recognizing my hard work and encouraging me to always give my best. Thank you. Thank you. If I’m going to do something for this sorry world, it’ll be because of you.

  • Relatively safe country

I live in a safe country and in this period of restlessness, I hope and I pray that it stays that way. I hope and I pray for a better world. I hope and I pray for a world where it’s safe for children to play outside. I hope and I pray for a world with no fear.

Or else I’m rebuilding Atlantis and living underwater.

  • My friends

Sera, Smirky and Mel, I don’t know if you guys are reading this, but you are my best friends. You understand me like no one does and I’m so grateful to have you in my life. Please stay in my life forever kthanksbye.

  • My blog

When I made the blog back in May, I didn’t expect that I would still be doing it. I thought that I will get bored and eventually stop it, but here I am, 7 months in and still going strong. Here, in my little cranny on the internet, I fangirl over books and rant about life and uni and people out there actually read my posts?? It’s crazy!

Also where would I waste the time that should be used for studying if I didn’t have this blog?

  • My readers

Last, but definitely not least, You. Yes you. Whether you are a regular reader, or just passing by because of the link on The Broke and the Bookish, or you simply stumbled upon this post by accident, thank you. Your lovely comments and likes and subscriptions (nudge nudge hint hint) make my day. You make it less lonely here. Thank you. Mwah.


 

 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Things I’m Thankful for

  1. ChrissiReads November 24, 2015 / 9:35 am

    What a lovely list! I can agree with a lot of your points. ❤

    • Jinan November 25, 2015 / 7:44 am

      Thank youu ❤

    • Jinan November 25, 2015 / 7:46 am

      Giving thanks makes you remember the things that you took for granted! Have a fantabulous week too 🙂

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury November 24, 2015 / 2:03 pm

    Awww, this list is the nicest of ever! Your family sound utterly wonderful and terrific. I think you should build Atlantis though. BECAUSE THAT’D BE AWESOME. 😄 Here’s my TTT!

    • Jinan November 25, 2015 / 7:48 am

      You are so sweet. And yes, my family IS wonderful and I’m so effing grateful.
      HAHAHA I’ll start saving the money to build Atlantis, then 😉

  3. Ayunda November 24, 2015 / 7:04 pm

    It’s cool that you like baking! I kinda like it too, and I understand what you said about how it’s really relaxing. My TTT.

    • Jinan November 25, 2015 / 7:49 am

      YES IT’S SO COMFORTING AND YOU JUST FORGET EVERYTHING AROUND YOU!!!

    • Jinan November 25, 2015 / 7:50 am

      Baking is all about practice because sometimes even the smallest mistake has the potential to ruin the recipe. Happy Thanksgiving to you too ❤

    • Jinan November 25, 2015 / 7:51 am

      YOU are lovely 😀

      • Carrie November 25, 2015 / 9:05 am

        Awww thanks! 😀

  4. elementsoflivinglife November 25, 2015 / 3:53 am

    Love this! 🙂 I never thought to be thankful for being able to read and write, but I definitely am glad I’m this fortunate to be able to.

    • Jinan November 25, 2015 / 7:56 am

      thank you! we humans tend to overlook so many blessings in life but it’s good to have someone to remind us of them, right?

    • Jinan November 26, 2015 / 8:20 am

      thank you 🙂

Join the Discussion

