Book Beginning: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

jinansbookistry

This is a Friday Book Beginning post, a weekly meme hosted at Rose City Reader. For more info, click here.

It would not be a welcome dawn. Already, the sky told this story.

Prologue, The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

This book has been on my tbr since long before it was released and I’ve been putting off reading it over and over fearing a let down because of my bad history with hyped books. But a few days ago I got the audiobook (because they are my thang now. Review for Walk on Earth a Stranger coming soon!) and dived into it yesterday. I’ve always loved retellings of the Arabian Nights and I hope that this one won’t disappoint!


Q: Have you read/listened to this book? Thoughts?

Q: If you haven’t read it already, are you going to?

14 thoughts on “Book Beginning: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

  1. Anne @HeadFullofBooks December 11, 2015 / 10:02 am

    I enjoyed this book but wished for more actual tales from 1001 Arabian Nights to be inserted.

    • Jinan December 12, 2015 / 9:07 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed the book! Haha, I was feeling intimidated because I don’t remember the actual tales, but that might be a good thing then!

  2. Sandra Nachlinger December 11, 2015 / 11:26 am

    I haven’t heard of this book or this author, but it sounds interesting. The opening makes me wonder what the sky is revealing.
    My Friday post features FEVER SEASON.

    • Jinan December 12, 2015 / 8:53 pm

      I hope that you will be adding the book to your TBR, Sandra!

  3. Bev Bouwer December 11, 2015 / 9:42 pm

    I love audiobooks. It makes me feel so special to be “read to”. Enjoy.

    • Jinan December 12, 2015 / 8:57 pm

      I’m really adoring them too! It’s especially awesome when you get used to the narrator and the words flow so smoothly in your head you imagine the characters right in front of you ❤

  4. Vicki December 11, 2015 / 10:06 pm

    I love audiobooks, but am very picky when it comes to narrators.

    • Jinan December 12, 2015 / 9:00 pm

      Yess narrators definitely make or break the audiobook. I did not like the narrator for The Night Circus and that made me drop the book with no desire to pick it up again (either audio or regular) 😦

  5. Ardis December 12, 2015 / 5:09 am

    I really enjoyed this book. Although the set up is the Arabian nights story, the book seems to go it’s own way (at least that’s is how I see it as I don’t remember much of the stories that made up the original story). I loved it .

    • Jinan December 12, 2015 / 9:03 pm

      that sounds great! it’s nice when retellings diverge, because if they don’t, then I might as well go read the originals. I hope I love it too 🙂

  6. Maria D. December 12, 2015 / 6:48 am

    This is a new to me book and author – liked the beginning.Here’s my Friday post

    • Jinan December 12, 2015 / 9:04 pm

      yay! I hope you add the book to your tbr, Maria!

    • Jinan December 12, 2015 / 10:16 pm

      I hope that you like it!!! Happy reading to you too 😀

Join the Discussion

