Short Book Review: Hello? by Liza M. Wiemer

22663633

Title: Hello?

Author: Liza M. Wiemer

Publication Date: November 10th 2015

Format: ARC

One HELLO? can change a life. One HELLO? can save a life.

Tricia: A girl struggling to find her way after her beloved grandma’s death.
Emerson: A guy who lives his life to fulfill promises, real and hypothetical.
Angie: A girl with secrets she can only express through poetry.
Brenda: An actress and screenplay writer afraid to confront her past.
Brian: A potter who sets aside his life for Tricia, to the detriment of both.

Linked and transformed by one phone call, Hello? weaves together these five Wisconsin teens’ stories into a compelling narrative of friendship and family, loss and love, heartbreak and healing, serendipity, and ultimately hope.

Told from all five viewpoints: narration (Tricia), narration (Emerson), free verse poetry (Angie), screenplay format (Brenda), narration and drawings (Brian). 

 

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

So I picked this book up, read a couple of chapters and then decided to put it down. Unfortunately, this isn’t the sort of book I like to read. What I read of it was way too morbid for me. It also reminded me of why I don’t read contemporary: the fear of what had happened to the MC happening to me. I love my grandmothers too much to try to imagine my life without them.

I have anxiety disorder. There was no way I was going to read ~400 pages of this.

So, I apologize, but I had to DNF this book for my sanity.

For what it’s worth, and from the few chapters that I read, it’s obvious that Liza Weimer has an excellent writing style. Her descriptions are so real and raw and full of undiluted pain that they hit you straight in the heart.

Join the Discussion

