Book Beginning: The Bargain by Jane Ashford

jinansbookistry

This is a Friday Book Beginning post, a weekly meme hosted at Rose City Reader. For more info, click here.

Lord Alan Gresham was icily, intolerably, dangerously bored.

Chapter One, The Bargain by Jane Ashford

So remember when I was lamenting about how Historical Romances are all the same these days?

WELL THIS ONE ISN’T.

AND I’M SO BLOODY HAPPY.

I picked it up, fully expecting to throw it back into the bookshelf with defeat but it completely took me by surprise! First, the hero isn’t a duke or a viscount or idk what other rank exists. He’s the sixth son of a duke so he’s still an aristocrat but it was a breath of fresh air after reading so many duke and rake stories. Which reminds me, Alan isn’t a rake!!!!! CAN SOMEONE THROW A PARTY?????

ISETVHNUCATJMEISJJMLJFKAZDEGNLGJERN

I’M ARIGHT I’M ALRIGHT

ALSO ARIEL IS SO CUTE AND ADORABLE AND STRONG AND KICKASS AND YEAH

IF YOU LIKE HISTORICAL ROMANCES PLS PICK THIS ONE UP

10 thoughts on “Book Beginning: The Bargain by Jane Ashford

  1. Bev Bouwer December 18, 2015 / 8:43 am

    Looks worthwhile, even if I don’t read many historical romances! Thanks for your funny review. Loved it. Here’s mine. Friday Book Mystery

    • Jinan December 23, 2015 / 11:47 am

      hahaha thank you xx

    • Jinan December 23, 2015 / 11:49 am

      finding those books that are different is good no matter what genre!! Thank you and happy reading to you too πŸ™‚

    • Jinan December 23, 2015 / 11:50 am

      it’s truly the best, Anne. Double yay! πŸ˜‰

  2. Maria D. December 18, 2015 / 7:13 pm

    I like it – sounds fun. Here’s my
    my Friday post

    • Jinan December 23, 2015 / 11:51 am

      it was! If you read Historical Romances then I very much recommend it πŸ™‚

  3. Sandra Nachlinger December 18, 2015 / 10:11 pm

    I have to agree with you. So many historical romances have ho-hum, predictable plots. It’s refreshing to hear that this one’s different. Sounds like a book I’d enjoy.
    My Friday post features THE LOCKET.

    • Jinan December 23, 2015 / 11:53 am

      Historicals with predictable plots are the bane of my existence. I hope that you like this one, in case you decide to check it out! πŸ˜€

Join the Discussion

