Book Review: Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy #1) by Rae Carson

24331513Title: Walk on Earth a Stranger

Author: Rae Carson

Publication Date: September 22nd, 2015

Format: Audiobook

 Gold is in my blood, in my breath, even in the flecks in my eyes.

Lee Westfall has a strong, loving family. She has a home she loves and a loyal steed. She has a best friend—who might want to be something more.

She also has a secret.

Lee can sense gold in the world around her. Veins deep in the earth. Small nuggets in a stream. Even gold dust caught underneath a fingernail. She has kept her family safe and able to buy provisions, even through the harshest winters. But what would someone do to control a girl with that kind of power? A person might murder for it.

When everything Lee holds dear is ripped away, she flees west to California—where gold has just been discovered. Perhaps this will be the one place a magical girl can be herself. If she survives the journey.

The acclaimed Rae Carson begins a sweeping new trilogy set in Gold Rush–era America, about a young woman with a powerful and dangerous gift.

 

five stars

Thoughts

I hated Carson’s Fire and Thorns trilogy. Well, I only read the first book but that was enough for me to see that that series’s not for me. Because of that, I was reluctant to pick this one up. I think I even removed it from my tbr for a while. Then, and after its publication, I started seeing it everywhere. SO many bloggers were singing it praises and it was all over instagram with its beautiful cover and spine so (mostly due to cover lust but shhhh) I said “what the hell is wrong with me, let me give this book a chance.” and added it to my tbr again.

A few days later I got the audiobook and started listening to it while sitting in the library waiting for the bus.

I missed the bus.

The book was so bloody good and enchanting that I clung to my phone with the earphones on for a long time, even after my ears started to hurt from having the buds in them for so long.

The world that Carson built is so robust with detail and life that I felt I was there, living with the characters and travelling with them. In fact, writing this review made me relive the wonderful experience that was listening to this book and now I want to give it a re-listen.Listening to Erin Mallon narrate this book was a dream and it made my enjoyment level of this book shoot up so high that now I want to check what other books she narrated so I can get them too. It was like she cast a spell over me. Her voice has this husky touch that suited Leah’s rough-though-somehow-gentle personality so much.

Carson’s writing style is pretty awesome. The way the words were tied together lent Lee’s thoughts and words a musical and poetic undertone that I really appreciated.

He means to scare me, but my breathing is just fine, thank you, and the hands on my rifle are steady enough to take him at two hundred paces.

The details Carson included were just enough for me to be there in the story but not so much that I got annoyed and skimmed through paragraphs and paragraphs of itsy bitsy details. I lived with the characters throughout their journey, my heart gave a thud thud when their lives were endangered, and I breathed sighs of relief once that danger passed.

Going over my notes and goodreads status updates, I found this

Untitled

Suffice to say that this book gave me a lot of feels. I think I even cried once. But then again, a book doesn’t have to try very hard to make me cry. But seriously. Just look at all those status updates. I was fangirling through it all.

The only complaint that I have about this book (and it’s not really a complain because it’s my own fault for not listening in history lessons) is that I had no idea what they were talking about when they were talking about slaves and which states are with slavery and which are not. I was a bit lost there, but as I said earlier, it’s my fault, not the book’s.

Character Analysis

(bear in mind that I’ve listened to the audiobook so I’m not sure about the spelling of the characters’ names)

Leah

Lee has a willpower of steel. She lost everything, and instead of breaking down completely over that lose, she pulled herself together and did what she had to do.

I loved how even though she can shoot really well, she isn’t one of those “to be strong I have to act like a guy and not like to wear dresses” characters and all that crap like in Graceling. She was forced to act and dress like a boy but when everyone knew she was a girl she started wearing her skirts again. There was a wonderful message there. COUGH COUGH.

About her gold sense, we don’t know much. I wanted to get some explanation for it but since this book isn’t fantasy, I doubt we are going to get one.

Jefferson

I’m not sure what to say about Jef. He wasn’t there for most of the book and when Leah met him again we didn’t get to know him very well because their interactions were limited. It was only towards the end that he resembled the Jef that Leah always knew him to be. We don’t yet know what happened on his journeys that changed him.

Bottom Line

bRING IT OOONNN I’M SO READY FOR BOOK TWO

Recommended to: Those who are interested in the wild west and those who want characters who are brilliant and real.

Join the Discussion

