Book Review: Crystal Cadets by Anne Toole

26486384

Title: Crystal Cadets

Author: Anne Toole + Illustrations by Katie O’Niell

Publication Date: Jan 5th, 2016

Format: ARC

 Join this team of darkness-fighting, world-saving, power-packed teen girls from all over the world on their first adventure! Zoe has always felt out of place; her foster parents are great and all, but she’s long felt like something was missing. That is, of course, until she discovers a mysterious gem left to her by her birth mother and her whole universe gets flipped around! When the crystal grants Zoe mysterious powers of light she becomes the Diamond Cadet, and she’s not the only one; suddenly she’s meeting new friends who shoot flames and glowing green arrows. It’s all fun at first, but when The Darkness possesses Zoe’s foster parents her only choice is to join this wild group of action-hero girls, traveling the globe to defeat The Darkness and find a cure!

 

3 stars

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

Thoughts

I enjoyed reading this book. The art is cute, the colors are vibrant, and the plot is enjoyable. However, I found that things progressed too fast for my liking.  I understand that this is how it should be, considering it’s a middle grade book but that didn’t suit me very much. Don’t get me wrong, I love me a fast paced graphic novel,  but this one was almost too fast. A lot of things happened in this book that I originally thought that it was a standalone but when the book ended and they hadn’t freed Zoe’s parents yet, I checked it out on Goodreads and apparently it’s a series. Which is why I didn’t get why they wanted to stuff so much into one book. The events that happened here could have easily been split between two books and elaborated more upon and that would have made everything more enjoyable.

Character Analysis

I really liked Zoe and all the girls. And Edward. I hope we see more of Edward in the following books. Him and Zoe would make a spectacular couple. I also really liked the diversity of the characters. Jasmine and Nahla are Indian, Gwen is a ginger, and Liz is gothic (and Asian, I think???), and Edward is black.

Bottom Line

Reading this reminded me of WITCH. I was addicted to that series during middle grade and this book gave me that girls-saving-the-world vibe again and that made me really happy. If only things weren’t so rushed, then I could have given it four stars.

Recommended to: Those who were/are fans of WITCH and girl power.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Crystal Cadets by Anne Toole

    • Jinan December 27, 2015 / 11:08 pm

      yay! Thank you for visiting 😀

Join the Discussion

