Short Book Review: On the Fence by Kasie West

18298225

Title: On the Fence

Author: Kasie West

Publication Date: July 1st 2014

Format: E-Book

 For sixteen-year-old Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, being raised by a single dad and three older brothers has its perks. She can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows—including her longtime neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world of makeup, lacy skirts, and BeDazzlers. Even stranger, she’s spending time with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game.To cope with the stress of faking her way through this new reality, Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with Braden by the fence that separates them. But their Fence Chats can’t solve Charlie’s biggest problem: she’s falling for Braden. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

 

4 stars

[I’m pretty conflicted about the rating of this book. It’s definitely not a 3.5 star read but 4 is too much?? So I guess 3.75? But since I don’t have a 3.75 stars rating, I decided to round it up.]

Contemporaries are my go-to genre when I need a little pick me up and I’m so happy I decided to read this one. It’s a very cute read and I was lying in bed, at 2 am, curled under a thick blanket, grinning and giggling like a crazy person.

I liked Charlie. MCs make or break a contemporary for me and Charlie rocked in that department.  I found that I could relate to her in a lot of things, mainly that she wasn’t sure that people would like the real her so she faked it. Sure, she annoyed me with her lying but what’s sad is that I would have done the exact same were I in her place.

Some people had issues with how Charlie started wearing makeup and cute clothes throughout the story and how she was a-tomboy-turns-girly but I didn’t see it that way at all. Charlie didn’t suddenly do a 180 transition. All that happened was that she met people who helped her see that she actually liked wearing clothes that looked good and putting makeup occasionally. She still played sports with her brothers and was her usual self.

Braden was pretty cool too.  He was seriously swoony at a lot of points but he also spent a huge part of the book fighting with Charlie that it started to seriously annoy me. I’m not a fan of plots where misunderstandings/jumping to conclusions happen and this was my main issue with the book. But I liked Braden as a person and he and Charlie really suit so YAY. Also Braden has hazel eyes and I have a weakness for guys with  hazel eyes so I might be a bit biased. 😀

2 thoughts on “Short Book Review: On the Fence by Kasie West

    • Jinan December 31, 2015 / 12:27 am

      Thank you! I hope you decide to add the book to your tbr 🙂

Join the Discussion

