Top Ten Bookish Resolutions I Have For 2016

jinansbookistry

This is a Top Ten Tuesday post which originated at The Broke and the Bookish. For more topics/information about how to participate, please click here.

A few days ago, I posted my 2016 resolutions. However, and since most of them are not book-related, I decided to join in this Tuesday to bring you my bookish resolutions 🙂 .

  • Read the Grisha Trilogy

I’m a huge fantasy fan. In fact, most of the books I read are fantasy. So it’s a shame that I haven’t read these books! Gotta fix that this year. (I already started Shadow and Bone. LOVING IT.)

  • Read the Lumatere Chronicles

Same reason.

  • Finish fixing/tiding up my Goodreads books

My tbr has 600+ books so it’s hard to scroll through all that to pick a book to read and most of the time I end up picking something that’s NOT on it. In addition to that, a lot of those 600+ books are ones that I’m no longer interested in so I’m going to remove those ones and then classify everything (books on my tbr as well as those I read) into bookshelves/genres.

  • Listen to more audiobooks

I started listening to audiobooks back in October I think? AND I ENJOYED IT SO MUCH AND WANT TO LISTEN TO MORE.

  • Pick up more contemporary books

I used to say I don’t like contemporary books but after reading a lot of them when I wasn’t feeling well last year, I discovered that I actually do. So yeah, more contemporary!

  • Buy more physical books

Check my original 2016 post for my reason! Yesterday I preordered Truthwitch and bought a copy of Beastly Bones!!

  • MAYBE self-hosting????

I’ve been turning this in my head for some time now because while I love not having to worry about finding a host site and paying money, I want to have 100% control over how my blog looks and maybe earn a little bit of money out of it. However, I won’t be blogging as my full time job because I want to work in the engineering community, and because of that, I’m not going to put a lot of pressure into the earning money aspect. As long as I’m earning something, even if it’s 50$, I’ll be glad. (especially because I have a year + a semester left in my undergrad-no-job life.)

  • Start reviewing for another blog

I think this will be awesome.

  • Grow a little bit wiser about the review copies I request on netgalley

I only recently (actually it’s been 8 months) started requesting from netgalley and this has led to me requesting some books that I’m not 100% interested in. When I used to get accepted for those books I always felt so bad about not reading them. I would sit and wonder how I’m going to tell the publisher that I won’t be reading the book that I REQUESTED. So yeah. NO MORE REQUESTING BOOKS YOU KNOW THAT YOU’RE NOT INTERESTED IN, J.

  • Make new blogger friends

I love making new friends! I like to think that I’m a very friendly person and I can proudly say that I reply to every comment you guys leave me here! So please comment more and let’s be friends 🙂


Q: What are your resolutions?

 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Resolutions I Have For 2016

  1. Lauren @ Always Me January 5, 2016 / 9:21 am

    I really need to read both of those series you mention here – I’ve head so many great things about them!

    Check out my TTT.

    • Jinan January 6, 2016 / 10:23 am

      I heard a loot of good things about them too but for some reason I just never pick them up. We have to change that!

  2. ChrissiReads January 5, 2016 / 9:34 am

    Great resolutions! 🙂 They all seem achievable. I’m so much better at not requesting books from NetGalley than I used to be!

    • Jinan January 6, 2016 / 10:25 am

      Thank you Chrissi 🙂 PLEASE TEACH ME YOUR WAYS!!

      • ChrissiReads January 6, 2016 / 10:35 pm

        Ha! I just really think about whether I’m actually interested in it and seriously question myself before I request!

    • Jinan January 6, 2016 / 10:28 am

      lol I think it must be something about seeing all those books in front of us. Sorta like when there is a sale at your fav shop and you go around dumping everything in your basket 😉 😉

  3. _giovannard January 5, 2016 / 9:05 pm

    Everyone keeps saying they need to tidy their Goodreads. Now I need to go do that too! Good Luck!

    My TTT! 😀

    • Jinan January 6, 2016 / 10:30 am

      oh do they???? I thought I was the only disorganized one xD Now I feel so much better, thank you Giovanna. (also I love your name!)

  4. SDCB Steph January 5, 2016 / 10:18 pm

    What great and reasonable goals. I tried self hosting WP, and you may really love it like so many bloggers do. I was personally distracted with all of the options and gadgets and I was focusing less on reading and content. I wish you the best of luck with making your decision and with meeting all of your goals. Happy 2016!
    -Smart Dames Clever Books

    • Jinan January 6, 2016 / 10:36 am

      Thank you so much for your insight! I never thought of it that way, and I’ll definitely keep that in mind. Best of luck to you too and have a wonderful year xx

    • Jinan January 6, 2016 / 10:30 am

      Thank youu ❤

  5. Carrie January 6, 2016 / 3:32 am

    fantastic list! I too need to spend some serious time with my Goodreads list and clean it up. My TTT

    • Jinan January 6, 2016 / 10:32 am

      hah looks like everyone is going to be throwing books out of their TBRs this year.

Join the Discussion

