Book Review: Thief of Lies (Library Jumpers #1) by Brenda Drake

17669243Title: Thief of Lies

Author: Brenda Drake

Publication Date: January 5th 2016

Format: ARC

 Gia Kearns would rather fight with boys than kiss them. That is, until Arik, a leather clad hottie in the Boston Athenaeum, suddenly disappears. While examining the book of world libraries he abandoned, Gia unwittingly speaks the key that sucks her and her friends into a photograph and transports them into a Paris library, where Arik and his Sentinels—magical knights charged with protecting humans from the creatures traveling across the gateway books—rescue them from a demonic hound.

Jumping into some of the world’s most beautiful libraries would be a dream come true for Gia, if she weren’t busy resisting her heart or dodging an exiled wizard seeking revenge on both the Mystik and human worlds. Add a French flirt obsessed with Arik and a fling with a young wizard, and Gia must choose between her heart and her head, between Arik’s world and her own, before both are destroyed.

 

1 star

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

Thoughts

This book was one of my most anticipated books for Jan 2016. The idea of travelling through libraries really intrigued me and it sounded like a book lover’s dream. Instead, I got an insta-love holy-shit-he’s-so-gorgeous-I-can’t-stop-looking-at-him-and-he-can’t-stop-looking-at-me plot, as well as bad conversations that had me rolling my eyes every five seconds kind of thing.

Let’s talk about that writing style for a minute. I’ve went on and on about my love for beautiful writing styles in my previous reviews so I’ll spare you the repetition, but I’ll say this: the most important thing in a book for me is the writing style. Here, the writing was choppy, and the sentences that could have been connected were left unattached. Some sentences didn’t even make sense in the context that they were in and I would have to stop for a minute to try to understand why they were placed there. Gia’s thoughts were sprinkled all over the place and a lot of them were so random like the girl couldn’t decide about what she wanted to think about. She’d go back and forth between her thoughts and that annoyed me.so.much.

The characters’ interaction with each other was what annoyed me the most. They were all fake and I felt like I was watching a reality show with bad acting. I forced myself to go on, hoping that it would get better. Alas, it did not and I couldn’t take it anymore.

Character Analysis

Minus her thoughts, Gia was okay. The other characters, though, killed me. Nick and Afton were pieces of cardboard while Arik was that annoying trend in YA were he marveled at everything Gia did and went on about how “different she was from other girls”. Lei was super annoying with her “ducky” and other nicknames. What the hell was that? Why the hell were they included?? They were unbelievable and no one would act that way in real life.

All the characters behaved in an unbelievable way, actually. I wanted to bash my head into a wall.

Bottom Line

Disappointing. Let me cry.

The only positive thing I have to say about this book is its cover. I love the colors and the title looks so chic and classy.

Recommended to: No one

Join the Discussion

