Book Review: Escape from Witchwood Hollow by Jordan Elizabeth Mierek

23351890Title: Escape from Witchwood Hollow

Author: Jordan Elizabeth Mierek

Publication Date: October 29th 2014

Format: E-Book

 Everyone in Arnn – a small farming town with more legends than residents – knows the story of Witchwood Hollow: if you venture into the whispering forest, the witch will trap your soul among the shadowed trees.

After losing her parents in a horrific terrorist attack on the Twin Towers, fifteen-year-old Honoria and her older brother escape New York City to Arnn. In the lure of that perpetual darkness, Honoria finds hope, when she should be afraid.

Perhaps the witch can reunite her with her lost parents. Awakening the witch, however, brings more than salvation from mourning, for Honoria discovers a past of missing children and broken promises.

To save the citizens of Arnn from becoming the witch’s next victims, she must find the truth behind the woman’s madness.

How deep into Witchwood Hollow does Honoria dare venture?

 

3 stars

**I received this copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

Thoughts

I had a hard time rating this story. Not because I didn’t enjoy it, because in some weird way I did, but because I didn’t like Honoria. I felt sorry for her because of her parents’ death but she pissed me off throughout all the book by behaving like she was 12 instead of 15. I would’ve liked her a lot more if she actually were 12. For the first half of the book, her chapters dragged on and the only chapters I wanted to read were Lady Clifford’s. That brings me to the third ‘main’ character, Albertine. UGGGGHHHH SHE ANNOYED ME EVEN MORE THAN HONORIA DID. I don’t care what you say, but she totally deserved getting stuck in the woods. Seriously. The town people all warned her about the forest and SHE STILL WENT IN THERE. How stupid can you get, woman? And she was 18. 18. Again, I would’ve expected this behavior from someone who is 12, not 18.

However, once the story really got started and we were beginning to understand what was going on in the woods, I sped through it. I wanted to see how all three characters would tie together (even if I didn’t particularly care for two of them) and woaah so many things that I didn’t see coming happened and that’s why the rating is 3 stars instead of 2.

I forgot to mention that this story is seriously creepy. So creepy that sometimes I would get goosebumps all over my arms. There was this one part where Albertine discovers that time in the woods does not pass the same way as outside and holy shit I really applaud the author for the way she wrote it.

I’m not the biggest fan of the ending. I felt like the take home message should be that you need to move through your grief. But after turning it this way and that in my head, I realized that that wouldn’t have suited Honoria’s character. She didn’t strike me as a strong person to be honest, and I don’t think she would have ever moved on.

Character Analysis

As I said before, I didn’t really like any of the characters. Except Lady Clifford, that is. Not only was she the only character who wasn’t whining 24/7 but she also intrigued me. What can I say, I have a thing for witches.

Bottom Line

For me, this book stared out a bit slow but the second half was intense and I flew through it, only to end up not liking the ending.

Recommended to: Those who like paranormal books that include witches and creepy events.

Join the Discussion

