Book Review: Air Awakens (Air Awakens #1) by Elise Kova

23127048Title: Air Awakens

Author: Elise Kova

Publication Date: August 27th 2015

Format: E-Book

 A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

 

3 stars and a half

Thoughts

I love me some high fantasy books during my final exams week. Between all the stress and crap from having to study about bonds between electrons and how solar panels absorb light, I like to lose myself in a world with kickass characters that shoot fire from their palms and control air with a mere twitch. Actually, that’s my preferred genre all the time but the need to read such books hits hard during exam period.

So. Air Awakens. I looved reading this book and I seriously could not put it down. Stuff happened, shit got real, swoonworthy moments were a thing, IT WAS EFFING BRILLIANT.

In the beginning, though, the choppy writing style really annoyed me and grated on my nerves because, come on, let’s all say this at 3!

1…2…3!

The most important thing in a book for me is the writing style! So yeah, it took me some time to get used to the mediocre writing and I never truly got over it but I overlooked it because the story is so, so good.

Something I really liked about this book is that the world building wasn’t so dense. Don’t misunderstand me, there was world building and that’s how it should be because this is a five book high fantasy series, but I wasn’t annoyed by it because we didn’t have very big chunks of history thrown at us. I am, though, hoping for less of that and more kickassery in book 2.

The magic system here is no new thing; it’s elemental magic, plain and simple, but what I really liked is how people with magic were feared and looked down upon instead of the opposite which is the more common approach in most high fantasy books.

Character Analysis

Vhalla

Please Vhalla, more destruction and less hesitation in the next book.

Aldrik

MY BABY LET ME LOVE YOU AND YOUR SLICKED BACK HAIR.

Bottom Line

Me 1: I kept this review short because I have to go study for my exams now.
Me 2: HUH? J WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT???
Me 1: Well, you know, your final exams.
Me 2: WHAT EXAMS????
Me 1: J stop this go study for your fin……..
Me 2: I’m gonna go read book 2 now kthanksbye.

****PLEASE LET THE WRITING BE BETTER IN THE NEXT BOOK, PLEASE. THAT’S, LIKE, MY ONLY COMPLAINT.****

Recommended to: Those who like high fantasy with rich worlds and dark princes who are so drool worthy.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Air Awakens (Air Awakens #1) by Elise Kova

  1. Ardis January 16, 2016 / 7:10 pm

    Oh my Gosh, I loved this review! I got this book during Thanksgiving weekend, but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet, I love fantasy books, so I will make reading it a priority, now. Good luck with your finals.

    • Jinan January 18, 2016 / 1:25 pm

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy it 😀

Join the Discussion

