Book Review: The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power

25368958Title: The Dragon Round

Author: Stephen S. Power

Publication Date:

Format: ARC

 A swashbuckling adventure with a dark side for fans of George R.R. Martin and Naomi Novik—when a ship captain is stranded on a deserted island by his mutinous crew, he finds a baby dragon that just might be the key to his salvation…and his revenge.

He only wanted justice. Instead he got revenge.

Jeryon has been the captain of the Comber for over a decade. He knows the rules. He likes the rules. But not everyone on his ship agrees. After a monstrous dragon attacks the galley, the surviving crewmembers decide to take the ship for themselves and give Jeryon and his self-righteous apothecary “the captain’s chance”: a small boat with no rudder, no sails, and nothing but the clothes on his back to survive on the open sea.

Fighting for their lives against the elements, Jeryon and his companion land on an island that isn’t as deserted as they originally thought. They find a baby dragon that, if trained, could be their way home. But as Jeryon and the dragon grow closer, the captain begins to realize that even if he makes it off the island, his old life won’t be waiting for him and in order get justice, he’ll have to take it for himself.

 

1 star

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

Thoughts

Bleh. Another book that had lots of promise went weeeeeeeeee down my Walk-of-Shame slide.

I can honestly say that I understood around 30% of what I read before giving up. The writing was so bloody vague that I was reading paragraphs without understanding what was going on. Sometimes I had to pause and just try to get my brain to decipher the weird mixture of letters and words that was in front of me. Everything was unclear: the way the characters spoke, their thoughts, everything. The book might’ve been written in Latin for all I know. In the beginning, I actually thought it was another ship that was attacking them, but then they started talking about dragons so I had a bit of an Oh! moment before putting two and two together. That’s how vague everything was. And then, just when I thought that I got over that misunderstanding and would begin to understand the book, the captain starts giving orders to his crew in ship talk.

Dear author,

I don’t talk ship, man. If you won’t explain what the hell your character is saying, then simply don’t use it.

Yours truly

Jinan

I’m not kidding. The captain would start spouting gibberish and I continue reading to try to understand his words through the crew’s actions but then even those end up not being understandable. Am I missing something here? Is this book targeted for sailors and I didn’t know?

Bottom Line

I didn’t have any idea what was going on.

Recommended to: Those who like to confuse themselves. 

Advertisements

Join the Discussion

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s