Book Beginning: The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace

jinansbookistry

This is a Friday Book Beginning post, a weekly meme hosted at Rose City Reader. For more info, click here.

Johanna could feel it. The fear, the haste, the pebbles sliding under her feet, the hiss of the arrows as they sliced through the air.

Chapter 1, The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace

This is honestly one of the best book beginnings I’ve read in a while. There are no fancy words or sentences there. It’s just two sentences, phrased simply, but the imagery in them draws the scene in your mind really quickly. You feel the fear, and the haste, and the pebbles under your feet. Your hear the whistle of the arrows over your head. And it’s brilliant. Effing brilliant. What more could you ask for from a fantasy book?

 

15 thoughts on “Book Beginning: The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace

    • Jinan January 23, 2016 / 3:31 pm

      I just finished it and it’s so so good! Thank you and have a good weekend 🙂

    • Jinan January 23, 2016 / 3:32 pm

      it does!! It’s awesome! I hope you check it out 😀

  1. Karen (@wellreadpirate) January 22, 2016 / 1:32 pm

    I’ve got this sitting on my Cloud, I think. I’ll have to check and move it up on my TBR!

    • Jinan January 23, 2016 / 3:32 pm

      excellent! I hope you pick it up soon 😀

  2. JuliWitte January 22, 2016 / 5:14 pm

    I really love how the progression of things being added really builds up the image that the reader has in their head. First there’s the fear, then you realise she’s running on unsteady ground and then there’s the arrows and you realize this is not a very safe situation. I can understand why you love this opening so much! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great week!
    My Friday Post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    • Jinan January 23, 2016 / 8:21 pm

      YES EXACTLY! You captured my feels exactly right! Thank you so much for the lovely comment and have a lovely week xx
      (also are you an engineer/engineering student? you’re wearing a safety helmet in your profile photo…)

      • JuliWitte January 24, 2016 / 2:07 am

        Hahaha no I’m not, complete opposite, I’m a literature student! I was visiting the CERN and had to wear the hardhat 🙂

    • Jinan January 23, 2016 / 3:33 pm

      It’s the best beginnings that make us want to know more!

  3. Maria January 22, 2016 / 8:41 pm

    I like the sound of this book – the beginning is good. Here’s my Friday meme

    • Jinan January 23, 2016 / 3:33 pm

      Right? The rest of the book is just as good!

    • Jinan January 23, 2016 / 3:34 pm

      Yep the writing in the whole book is good! It’s not “flowery” but it’s solid and the imagery is brilliant.

Join the Discussion

