Book Review: Fire Falling (Air Awakens #2) by Elise Kova

26047438Title: Fire Falling

Author: Elise Kova

Publication Date: November 19th 2015

Format: E-Book

 Soldier… Sorcerer… Savior… Who is Vhalla Yarl?

Vhalla Yarl marches to war as property of the Solaris Empire. The Emperor counts on her to bring victory, the Senate counts on her death, and the only thing Vhalla can count on is the fight of her life. As she grapples with the ghosts of her past, new challenges in the present threaten to shatter the remnants of her fragile sanity. Will she maintain her humanity? Or will she truly become the Empire’s monster?

 

2 stars

Thoughts

I’m not a series person. I love high fantasy but I don’t read it a lot because most books in that genre are part of a series and there is…just this thing about a series that scares me. What if I loved the first book but ended up hating the second one? OR what if I loved the all the books but hated the ending?

This book is a prime example of that.

I really enjoyed reading the first book (check review here). It was far from perfect and it had its problems but I still liked it and was excited to start reading this one.

But boy was I disappointed.

This book wins The-Worst-Book-I’ve-Read-This-Year award. Mind you, I’ve only read 9 books until now so it doesn’t have a lot to compete with, but still.

After finishing the book, the first thing I did was go on Goodreads and see what other people thought of it. Imagine my shock when everyone said that they liked it even more than the first one! Like, what? Huh? Have we all read the same book?

In my review for Air Awakens, I mentioned that I hoped that the writing style will get better. Oh, J. Oh you poor sweet naive thing. SIGH. I did not think that was possible but the writing was even worse here than in the first book. I hated it. I hated every bloody second. UGH UGH UGH.

I found the book itself to be lacking. It was slow and nothing really happened except towards the ending. All the characters really annoyed me and the amount of times I rolled my eyes was only exceeded by how many times I wanted to bash my head on the wall.

I know what you’re thinking, “J, even though you hated this book, you still gave it 2 stars and you’ve given books less that that. Why?” Well, first let me applaud you for your attentiveness. But let me tell you why I gave this book 2 stars and not the 1.5 stars it deserves. It’s the ending, dear reader. The ending was asdfghjkl. And that is why the rating is 2. That’s also why I’m still going to read book 3.

Character Analysis

Vhalla

YOU. YOU AREN’T ONLY THE MAIN CHARACTER IN THIS BOOK, YOU’RE ALSO THE MAIN PROBLEM.

STOP TRYING SO HARD TO BE USELESS AND PATHETIC, PLEASE

I can’t even believe I wrote that. Usually it’s supposed to be something like, “please stop trying to be badass/kickass because it’s not working”. But, gasp, HAH, you went against the current. Not only were you trying really hard to be pathetic, but it actually worked! Here’s a round of applause.

You are so pathetic and weak and annoying that I’ve washed my hands off you.

You can die in the next book for all I care.

Please note this sentence in the synopsis

…Or will she truly become the Empire’s monster?

BAHAHAHAHAHAHA

I’m sorry??? Empire’s monster????????????? You want to know what Vhalla did throughout all the book? Let me tell you what she did.

Vhalla: They want a monster? I’ll give them a monster. I’ll show them
Vhalla: I can’t!!!! I’m so weak!
Vhalla: I’m going to show them!! I have a black heart!
Vhalla: I’m nothing!! I’m so weak!! Aldrik where are you?
Vhalla: I feel nothing! I’m a shell of my former self! I’ve lost everything!
Vhalla: I need Aldrikkkkkk.

tumblr_mtym9rtlmi1qzvii3o1_400

Well let me tell you something, babe. YOU ARE NOTHING.

YOU DON’T EVEN BLOODY TRY TO DO ANYTHING.

YOU JUST STAND THERE DOING NOTHING!!!!!

You have the power of the fucking winds and all you did was get injured and then Aldrik has to carry you and take care of your wounds.

I don’t care about you I don’t care abouuuutttt yooouuuuuuu

Aldrik

Aldrik Aldrik Aldrik. You seriously disappointed me, babe. You are so smart and intelligent and strong. WHAT THE F DO YOU SEE IN VHALLA? HUUUUUHH??? WHAT DO YOU SEE IN HER? PLEASE EXPLAIN.

Bottom Line

This cover? freaking awesome. Such a shame it was wasted on such a book.

I’m going to continue the story just to see what happens with my baby Aldrik. Vhalla? I couldn’t care less about what happens to her.

Recommended To: Those who want swoony male leads who are attracted to the wrong effing woman.

 

Join the Discussion

