Top Ten Bookish Quotes I Have on My Closet

jinansbookistry

This is a Top Ten Tuesday post which originated at The Broke and the Bookish. For more topics/information about how to participate, please click here.

I LOVE collecting quotes. There is just this thing about finding lines that someone, maybe even a person who has been dead for thousands of years, had said that appeals to me. I feel like I hold some part of them with me now. And if those quotes are about books, that’s when I treasure them even more.

Recently my family passed through some tough times and I was seriously affected by what happened. For a couple of days, all I did was wallow in my misery. Then on a whim, I decided to write down my favorite bookish quotes and stick them on my closet. That way I can read them whenever I need a little pick-me-up.

Here’s a picture of my closet right now, though I’m always adding new quotes so it won’t stay looking this way for long 😀 (Please excuse the hideous picture/lighting. My phone camera sucks.)

20160125_211729

Anyway, here are my top ten favorite quotes that I have there:

  • “The world belongs to those who read.”
  • “Books are proof that humans can work magic.”
  • “Bookshops are time machines, spaceships, story-makers, secret keepers, dragon-tamers, dream-catchers, fact-finders, and safe places.”
  • “A book contains the world, yet fits perfectly in your hand.”
  • “A book is a friend. You can never have too many.” <— a personal favorite.
  • “Everyone should believe in something. I believe I’ll read another chapter.”
  • “I have so much to do that I’m going to read.”
  • “I spent my life folded between the pages of books.”
  • “We lose ourselves in books. We find ourselves there too.”
  • “Book are the plane and the train, and the road. They are the destination and the journey. They are home.” <— another personal favorite.

I hope that you like these quotes as much as I do!

Q1: Which one is your favorite?

Q2: If you know any cool quotes that I didn’t mention here, please feel free to leave some in the comments section below!

 

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Quotes I Have on My Closet

  1. Sue January 26, 2016 / 1:20 pm

    Great list! I really love the quote “We lose ourselves in books. We find ourselves there too.” Very true. 🙂

    • Jinan January 27, 2016 / 11:23 am

      Thank you, Sue! I really like that one as well 🙂

  2. Sarah January 26, 2016 / 1:29 pm

    I really love this idea, and the quotes are absolutely lovely! One of my favourite bookish quotes is the Francis Bacon quote “Some books should be tasted, some devoured, but only a few should be chewed and digested thoroughly.” And there’s “Once you have read a book you care about, some part of it is always with you.”, which is another nice one. 🙂
    Of the quotes you have there, I really like “A book contains the world, yet fits perfectly in your hand.”
    Fab post!

    • Jinan January 27, 2016 / 11:37 am

      You are the sweetest, thank you! And those quotes are amazing 🙂

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury January 26, 2016 / 1:31 pm

    I LOVE QUOTES TOO!! I have a horrible memory though, so I often forget to collect my favourites…but gahhhh, in a well-ordered universe, I would totally have a WALL of quotes. 😄 All done in nice graphic typography too. heeh. But omg I love your #9. That is an amazing quote. ❤ Here’s my TTT!

    • Jinan January 27, 2016 / 11:26 am

      Maybe you can change that this year? As a late new year resolution? 😉 😉

    • Jinan January 27, 2016 / 11:20 am

      Thank you 🙂

    • Jinan January 27, 2016 / 11:22 am

      Thank you for the link! I’ll definitely check it out 🙂

    • Jinan January 27, 2016 / 11:19 am

      Glad you liked them 😀

  4. Carrie January 26, 2016 / 11:37 pm

    ooo – this one is my fave : “Bookshops are time machines, spaceships, story-makers, secret keepers, dragon-tamers, dream-catchers, fact-finders, and safe places.”

    My TTT

    • Jinan January 27, 2016 / 11:20 am

      I adore that one too, Carrie!

Join the Discussion

