Book Review: The Prophecy of Shadows (Elementals #1) by Michelle Madow

11992012

Title: The Prophecy of Shadows

Author: Michelle Madow

Publication Date: January 26th 2016

Format: ARC 

Filled with magic, thrilling adventure, and sweet romance, Elementals is the first in a new series that fans of Percy Jackson and The Secret Circle will love!

When Nicole Cassidy moves from sunny Georgia to gloomy New England, the last thing she expects is to learn that her homeroom is a cover for a secret coven of witches. Even more surprisingly … she’s apparently a witch herself. Despite doubts about her newfound abilities, Nicole is welcomed into this ancient circle of witches and is bedazzled by their powers—and, to her dismay, by Blake—the school’s notorious bad-boy.

Girls who get close to Blake wind up hurt. His girlfriend Danielle will do anything to keep them away, even if she must resort to using dark magic. But the chemistry between Blake and Nicole is undeniable, and despite wanting to protect Nicole from Danielle’s wrath, he finds it impossible to keep his distance.

When the Olympian Comet shoots through the sky for the first time in three thousand years, Nicole, Blake, Danielle, and two others in their homeroom are gifted with mysterious powers. But the comet has another effect—it opens the portal to the prison world that has contained the Titans for centuries. After an ancient monster escapes and attacks Nicole and Blake, it’s up to them and the others to follow the clues from a cryptic prophecy so that they can save their town … and possibly the world.

 

3 stars and a half

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

[This review should have been posted yesterday but I completely forgot to!]

This review is part of the blog tour to support ‘Elementals: The Prophecy of Shadows’. Click here to see my cover + blurb reveal for the second book!

Thoughts

I love Percy Jackson. It’s one of my all time favorite series and if you’ve been following my blog for a while now, you’ll know that I take every chance to fangirl over it. So when I saw that this book is pitched as a Percy Jackson meets The Secret Circle (which I haven’t read) I jumped at the chance to read it. And while I did enjoy reading this book, I couldn’t really see why it was described as such.We didn’t really get to meet any of the Greek gods. They were mentioned, and the witches are their descendants, but that was it. I’m hoping that we’ll get to see them in the following books!

The witches in this book are not the common type of witches that includes brewing potions and casting spells and curses. Rather, it’s more of a superpower way of witches. At the beginning I was disappointed because I wanted it to be the potion-brewing/spell-casting witchcraft but after some time I liked this new twist. After all, if all the books we read are the same thing, things would get boring, no?

I really liked the world building that Michelle did here. It set the stones for the other books to include both our world and another other-worldly one were demons roam. Something I really liked in Michelle’s writing is that it’s not heavy. You don’t feel like she’s dancing around or using large words and complicated sentences to make her book better. She is very straight forward and that’s why you breeze through this book in no time at all while enjoying yourself and the adventures her characters are going through.

All the characters were well rounded and I enjoyed seeing their interactions with each other! I especially liked Kate and Chris and they were super cute together and please, please, please can we have more of them in the following books? I also liked Danielle, who I’m not sure you’re supposed to like but honestly? If I had a boyfriend and suddenly he started paying the new girl a lot of attention I’d get bitchy as well.

Character Analysis

Nicole

I liked Nicole. She handled things well considering that she’s still new to the whole magic/witchery life. Also her powers OMG. I want to see a dark Nicole. That would be a wonderful twist. 😀

I really don’t have anything to say about her other than that her relationship with Blake really got on my nerves. I found the spark between them to be dull and I did not get what she saw in him. It was lost to me. I’m wishing so hard for her to meet someone else.

Blake

Sorry Blake, but I didn’t like you. Even if your relationship with Danielle is on-off, you don’t get to kiss Nicole whenever you feel like it. It’s called cheating, babe. Mind you, Nicole is also to blame but since she never acted on her attraction to you, then you get most of it.

Bottom Line

I really enjoyed reading this book and I’m looking forward to being with Nicole as she discovers more about her powers.

Recommended to: Those who want a new twist on witchery.

Join the Discussion

