Book Review: The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

21979832Title: The Girl from Everywhere

Author: Heidi Heilig

Publication Date: February 16th 2016

Format: ARC

 It was the kind of August day that hinted at monsoons, and the year was 1774, though not for very much longer.

Sixteen-year-old Nix Song is a time-traveller. She, her father and their crew of time refugees travel the world aboard The Temptation, a glorious pirate ship stuffed with treasures both typical and mythical. Old maps allow Nix and her father to navigate not just to distant lands, but distant times – although a map will only take you somewhere once. And Nix’s father is only interested in one time, and one place: Honolulu 1868. A time before Nix was born, and her mother was alive. Something that puts Nix’s existence rather dangerously in question…

Nix has grown used to her father’s obsession, but only because she’s convinced it can’t work. But then a map falls into her father’s lap that changes everything. And when Nix refuses to help, her father threatens to maroon Kashmir, her only friend (and perhaps, only love) in a time where Nix will never be able to find him. And if Nix has learned one thing, it’s that losing the person you love is a torment that no one can withstand. Nix must work out what she wants, who she is, and where she really belongs before time runs out on her forever.

 

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

five stars

Thoughts

I’ve been eyeing this book for a very long time now. It featured in one of my WOW posts and ever since then, I’ve stalked it on 1)Goodreads, where I added it to my must-reads shelf and 2)Book Depository, where it’s on both my wishlists. A few days ago, I was browsing netgalley as I usually do when I’m bored and.my.heart.almost.stopped. There it was, sitting innocently on the Read Now shelf. I’ve never pressed that button so fast in my life. I went on twitter, fangirled to the author for a bit, did a quick dance with my hands flailing everywhere, almost stopped breathing as I waited for the book to download on my phone and then at last—AT LAST—once it finished downloading, I tapped on it and I was lost in a world of time travel and maps and love, both lost and found.

By the end of the day, I was 36% in. I panicked. I didn’t want to fly through it; I wanted to enjoy every word. So for the following two days, I only read ~50 pages. But I got restless. I kept on thinking about it. I had to know what will happen. I HAD TO. So I picked my phone up again and…aaahh…I was under the book’s spell again.

This really isn’t much of a review, is it.

Fiiineeee here’s what you came for.

This book. THIS BOOK. ASDFGHJKLASDFGHJKLASDFGHJKL. Words cannot describe how much I loved it. I loved every page. Every line. Every second. It exceeded my super high expectations and that is no small feat, because my expectations were high.

The world building was super. The time travelling using maps was super. The laws of time travelling were super. That mind boggling aspect of time travel books was super. (That was really, really super actually. It showcased exactly why I love time travel books. How that this thing happened in the past because you did that in the future. IT.WAS.MIND.BLOWING)

The descriptions, dear God. The writing, oh my goodness. Heilig knows how to write, people. During the last few chapters, I was literally sitting on my nerves. The whole book was filled with action and there was never a dull moment but the last couple of chapters were the definition of intense.

Something I really loved about this book is that it assumed I was smart and that I knew everything from mythology to history. And if there was something I didn’t? I’d have to google it. I really appreciate books that challenge my knowledge (and strive to increase it) and my thinking (by twisting my mind this way and that.)

The characters, so flawed yet so lovable, made this book so alive and real and connectable (is that even a word?)

Character Analysis

Nix

I LOVE HER NAME.

#calmdownJ

Nix was one of the best MCs I’ve come upon in a while. She was smart, and awesome, and simply, plain amazing. One complaint, though, is how blind she was to her father’s love. She kept on thinking that he wanted to get rid of her (no this isn’t a spoiler, it’s in the synopsis) and I reaaallyyyy wanted to shake some sense into her.

Kash

SO SWOOONNYYYY. How he calls her Amira. And how he comforts her in different languages. I…JUST…MELTTTTT ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Bottom Line

I don’t usually get book hangovers. I did after I finished reading this. Heidi Heilig, you just wrote a new favorite. Thank you.

Recommended to: Wish I can recommend this to everyone but apparently some people don’t like time travel books?? are you crazy what’s wrong with you So yeah, this book is for all those who love time travel books.  

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

    • Jinan February 1, 2016 / 8:31 pm

      I do too! Make sure you pick it up once it’s published. Thank you so much for the lovely comment 😀

  1. Ardis @ Pondering The Prose February 2, 2016 / 7:40 pm

    I got this book on NetGalley, and I hope to get to it by Thursday of this week. I’m even more excited to read it now!

    • Jinan February 7, 2016 / 9:07 am

      have you started the book yet? I’m sooooo in love with it I’m buying a physical copy as soon as it’s published!

Join the Discussion

