Top Five Historical Settings I Love

jinansbookistry

This is a Top Ten Tuesday post which originated at The Broke and the Bookish. For more topics/information about how to participate, please click here.

I have a thing for historical settings. There is just something special about reading books set there that makes them almost real. That doesn’t mean I like to read historical books of all kinds though. Below you’ll find a list of my favorite historical settings as well as what sort of books set in the time that I like to read.

Regency England

I loove historical romances set there.

Highlands

Same as above. I love the descriptions of the hills and the valleys in these books.

Wild West

YYEEEEHHHAAAAAWWWWW

Ancient Greece

Um I live on mythology.

Any high fantasy setting that seems historical

I love high fantasy in general but I prefer the ones with settings where the people are not technologically advanced/ still use old modes of transport etc…


Q: Do you share my love for any of these settings?

 

10 thoughts on “Top Five Historical Settings I Love

  1. ChrissiReads February 2, 2016 / 9:36 am

    It’s lovely to see the Highlands on so many lists this week 🙂 I also like reading about them!

    • Jinan February 4, 2016 / 11:08 am

      Right? I had no idea that that setting is so popular!

  2. Kristen @ Metaphors and Moonlight February 2, 2016 / 9:37 am

    I so agree with the fantasy settings that seem historical thing! One of the things I love most about historical books is the lack of technology, so it’s nice when books have that, even if they’re not in a real historical place 🙂

    • Jinan February 4, 2016 / 11:17 am

      Isn’t that the best setting ever? You feel like the setting is new in every book/series because each one has its own rules and characteristics. I always get butterflies when I read such books lol xD

    • Jinan February 4, 2016 / 11:12 am

      I adoooreee mythology in general too 😀

  3. Carrie February 2, 2016 / 11:15 pm

    oooo I forgot about the Highlands – I could have included that on my list too! My TTT

    • Jinan February 4, 2016 / 11:10 am

      you can always add it 😉

  4. Julie @ Retro Writer February 3, 2016 / 2:38 am

    A lot of people have added the Wild West. Authors need to take note! Great choices!

    • Jinan February 4, 2016 / 11:11 am

      Thank you! And yes we need more books set in the wild west!

Join the Discussion

