Book Review: Storm Siren (Storm Siren #1) by Mary Weber

18806259Title: Storm Siren

Author: Mary Weber

Publication Date: August 19th 2014

Format: ARC 

 In a world at war, a slave girl’s lethal curse could become one kingdom’s weapon of salvation. If the curse—and the girl—can be controlled.As a slave in the war-weary kingdom of Faelen, seventeen-year-old Nym isn’t merely devoid of rights, her Elemental kind are only born male and always killed at birth — meaning, she shouldn’t even exist.

Standing on the auction block beneath smoke-drenched mountains, Nym faces her fifteenth sell. But when her hood is removed and her storm-summoning killing curse revealed, Nym is snatched up by a court advisor and given a choice: be trained as the weapon Faelen needs to win the war, or be killed.

Choosing the former, Nym is unleashed into a world of politics, bizarre parties, and rumors of an evil more sinister than she’s being prepared to fight . . . not to mention the handsome trainer whose dark secrets lie behind a mysterious ability to calm every lightning strike she summons.

But what if she doesn’t want to be the weapon they’ve all been waiting for?

Set in a beautifully eclectic world of suspicion, super abilities, and monsters, Storm Siren is a story of power. And whoever controls that power will win.

 

4 stars and a half

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

Thoughts

I don’t usually compare books. You can check all my reviews and they’ll attest to that. Each book is different and must, therefore, not be compared to any other. But I couldn’t help myself this time. I couldn’t help it because this book has a heroine that is everything I want from a MC. A heroine who gets her shit done herself. A heroine who does’t sit and cry and call herself useless because she can’t give two fucks about actually trying to do things. Hear that, Vhalla? (more on that later.)

I’ll admit though. The beginning was a little bit rocky. That was not because there’s anything wrong with this book, but because I had a book hangover after I finished THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE (review here). On the positive side, it only took me two chapters to get over that hangover and to be fully immersed in it!

What really, really helped in me falling in love with the book so fast is the writing. It had the poetic aspect that I love and prefer in books. It made reading the book that much more enjoyable and I found myself stopping and rereading some lines because of how they resonated in me or because of how beautiful the description is.

The world the story is set in is huge. HUGE. This book was set in one of the five kingdoms that are in the series’s universe and I have a feeling that the following books will greatly include traveling/quests/adventures in the other kingdoms and I’m so pumped. Weber’s world building is fantabulous and rich with details without going overboard, and because of that, I have a very clear image in my mind about how everything looked like.

The emotions that this book evoked in me are too many to list but that awesome writing we talked about earlier made me feel everything tenfold and the descriptions of Nym’s feelings were arrows to my heart. Basically, what I’m saying is that reading this book was an emotional roller coaster and that I spent the last few chapters crying. No joke. I was bawling and wiping snot with my sleeve while clutching my phone in the other hand to continue reading. How’s that for a beautiful image, huh?

Character Analysis

Nym

Unlike Vhalla, Nym is actually kickass. They were actually in similar positions. They both had powers they couldn’t control and kingdoms that depended on them. One, however, tried so fucking to learn how to control her deadly powers in order to help others, while the other one sat with her hand on her cheek and did nothing then proceeded to cry pitifully when people died. Nym has sass. She has attitude. She wanted to get better and to change and to be powerful and to help those around her. She wanted to find herself. She might have not known that she wanted all those things in the beginning, but I knew that she did. I was cheering for her all the way, while I wanted to smother Vhalla with her pillow.

Nym did have a love interest. She did. She has feelings like the rest of us, but unlike Vhalla who depended on Aldrik to do everything, NYM DID EVERYTHING HERSELF BECAUSE SHE’S INDEPENDENT AND SHE’S AWESOME.

Bottom Line

This book was one hell of a ride. I was a sobbing mess by the end. Really. I was.

I NEED BOOK TWO RIGHT NOW.

Recommended to: Those who want a true kickass heroine who is very easy to love.

Join the Discussion

