Top Twelve Swoony-est Book Quotes

jinansbookistry

This is a Top Ten Tuesday post which originated at The Broke and the Bookish. For more topics/information about how to participate, please click here.

I don’t care much for Valentine’s day. And no, it’s not because, oh, I’m single and bitter at all the couples in the world. I just firmly believe that we should show those we love that we love them every day and not just on one day of the year that is mostly a marketing invention to rob people of their money. However, I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t enjoy putting this post together. Despite my indifference towards the 14th of February, I’m a self-proclaimed romantic who enjoys swoonworthy moments (and men) in books too much to skip on this TTT.

So here you go, dear reader, and may you swoon as much as I did while writing this post.

“You are the noblest, purist creature I’ve ever met. the universe will be a darker place without you.”

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

She lowered her head until it was at his level. He stroked the line of her jaw, and then pressed his forehead against her hard snout and held her as tightly as he could, her scales sharp against his fingers. Hot tears began to slide down his cheeks.
“Why do you cry?” she asked.
“Because… I’m lucky enough to be bonded with you.”
“Little one.”

Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

The above two quotes are not ‘romantic’, especially the second one as the recipient is a dragon, but I love them too much not to include them here.

What was it that made this human love so much more desirable to me than the love of my own kind? Was it because it was exclusive and capricious? The souls offered love and acceptance to all. Did I crave a greater challenge?…Or was it simply better somehow? Because these humans hate with so much fury, was the other end of the spectrum that they could love with more heart and zeal and fire?

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

“So, I love you because the entire universe conspired to help me find you.”

The Alchemist by Paulo Cohelo

“And now I finally have a good answer to the one question everyone always asks me–why I hacked into Twitter. I didn’t know it at the time… but I did it to find you again.”

About that Night by Julie James

“I love you. On intense days. On good days. On long, exhausting work days. On really strange days when I find out that I have a long-lost brother. And most of all, on days when you make me smile, which happens to be every day I’m with you. You are not just a big-picture girl for me, Brooke Parker. You’re the only picture.”

Love Irresistibly by Julie James

He was not quite sure how to phrase it, so he finally went with, haltingly, “I don’t enjoy being at the center of attention.”

Her head tilted to the side, she regarded him for a long moment before saying, “No. You don’t.” And then: “You were always a tree.”

“I beg your pardon?”

Her eyes grew sentimental. “When we performed our awful pantomimes as children. You were always a tree.”

“I never had to say anything.”

“And you always got to stand at the back.”

He felt himself smile, lopsided and true. “I rather liked being a tree.”

“You were a very good tree.” She smiled then, too—a radiant, wondrous thing. “The world needs more trees.”

Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn

He looks away.

And he smiles.

It’s the kind of smile that makes me forget how to do everything but blink and blink and I don’t understand what’s happening to me. I don’t know why I can’t convince my eyes to find something else to focus on.

I don’t know why my heart is losing its mind.

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

He had to kiss her. He had to. It was as basic and elemental as his breath, his blood, his very soul. And when he did…

The earth stopped spinning.

The birds stopped singing.

Everything in the world came to a halt, everything but him and her and the feather-light kiss that connected them.

Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn

“I ask you to pass through life at my side—to be my second self, and best earthly companion.”

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

I’m falling apart and into his heart, and I’m a disaster.

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

“Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë


Q1 : Have you swooned while reading these? Melted at the knees? Fainted? 

Q2: What are some of YOUR favorite swoonworthy quotes?

8 thoughts on “Top Twelve Swoony-est Book Quotes

  1. ChrissiReads February 9, 2016 / 9:31 am

    I love the quotes from The Host, it’s reminded me how much I enjoyed that book!

    • Jinan February 12, 2016 / 10:29 am

      I looved that book! It has so many other beautiful quotes but if I gave in then this whole post will be about them 😉

    • Jinan February 12, 2016 / 10:27 am

      Those are favorites of mine 😀

  2. Sue February 9, 2016 / 9:51 am

    I really enjoyed The Host so it was nice to see some quotes from it, but I also like the one from The Alchemist. 🙂

    • Jinan February 12, 2016 / 10:32 am

      So did I! The Host is one of my fav books 😀 And yes the one from The Alchemist is really good too.

  3. Carrie February 9, 2016 / 7:55 pm

    ahhh I’m all aswoon! Love these quotes! 🙂 I’ve got some swoon-worthy kissing scene quotes on My TTT today

    • Jinan February 12, 2016 / 10:26 am

      Those are always the best quotes, Carrie 😉 😉

Join the Discussion

