Top Ten Soundtracks I listen to While Reading

jinansbookistry

This is a Top Ten Tuesday post which originated at The Broke and the Bookish. For more topics/information about how to participate, please click here.

I often listen to music while reading. Not music with words because then I can’t focus on the book, but just good ol’ soundtracks. I feel that the right beat can really increase my enjoyment for the book and there was a time where I spent all the time to and from uni  listening to soundtracks and reading. Even that those days are long gone now, because of my new found love for  audiobooks, it’s still something I enjoy doing when I want to treat myself.

Below, you’ll find my top ten favorite soundtracks (plus a bonus playlist)

  • Now We are Free by Enya
  • Creation of Earth (Sun) – Thomas Bergersen
  • Senbonzakura – cover by Lindsey Stirling
  • The Sidhenearlahi Set- Omnia
  • Empire of Angels (Sun) – Thomas Bergersen
  • He’s A Pirate (Pirates Of The Caribbean Theme)- David Garrett
  • Starfall – Two Steps From Hell
  • Transcendence (Orchestral)- Lindsey Stirling
  • Santiago – Loreena McKennitt
  • The Secret of Kells  – The Book of Kells

BONUS PLAYLIST: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

I hope that you give these a try! You can find all of them on YouTube. 🙂


Q: Do you listen to music while reading?

 

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Soundtracks I listen to While Reading

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 8:51 pm

      I love listening to it. It puts me in such a hyper mood! Thank you and have a lovely weekend 🙂

  1. ChrissiReads February 16, 2016 / 10:46 am

    I wish I could read whilst listening to music. I tend to end up focusing on one thing rather than experiencing both! Great list.

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 9:18 pm

      Hahaha I get what you mean! Even though it doesn’t happen that often anymore, I used to have to read the same paragraph more than once because I lost focus xD

  2. TT @ introtoblurb February 16, 2016 / 11:26 am

    I love your twist on this week’s TTT! I prefer reading with music in the background to be honest, I think I lose concentration if it’s stark silence in the room! Might have to check these soundtracks out; googled a couple and really enjoyed them – I can see why you listen to them whilst reading! 😛

    Here’s a link to my TTT if you have a spare minute to check it out 🙂 My music taste is so sloppy, gah!
    https://introtoblurb.wordpress.com/2016/02/16/top-ten-tuesday-songs-as-books/

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 9:06 pm

      Thank you! I’m really glad that you gave some of these a try and that you liked them. Hope you like the rest as well 🙂

  3. Anastasia February 16, 2016 / 12:59 pm

    I often listen to older songs by Abba, simon & garfunkel, jimi hendrix 🙂 those seem to match many books 😀

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 9:02 pm

      I really like old songs as well. Though the oldies I listen to are often in my first tongue and not english 😀

      • Anastasia February 18, 2016 / 11:01 pm

        Cool! What are some good oldies in your first tongue? 😀 I’m curious

  4. mki52 February 16, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    Great list! I love the twist you made to this week’s theme! I don’t usually listen to music when I read, though I usually have the tv on!

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 9:01 pm

      Aw thank you ❤ I can't focus with the TV on! I feel like I have to keep my eyes on it if it were.

  5. elenasquareeyes February 16, 2016 / 7:55 pm

    I don’t really listen to music while reading but I love to listen to orchestral music and film scores while I’m writing – He’s A Pirate is on of my favourite pieces of music 🙂
    My musical Top Ten Tuesday.

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 8:59 pm

      Film scores are absolutely fantastic! I adore He’s a Pirate, too 😉

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 8:58 pm

      I used to be like that before I discovered soundtracks. They really are wonderful. Thank you and have a fantastic weekend 🙂

  6. Carrie February 16, 2016 / 11:19 pm

    oh! I love Lindsey Stirling! The Piano Guys are another of my go-tos when reading 🙂 My TTT

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 8:55 pm

      Isn’t she lovely? I’ll check those guys out soon, Carrie 😀

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 8:53 pm

      I’ve never listened to that! Will add it to my list 🙂

  7. Allyson Gilmore February 17, 2016 / 12:49 am

    The only one I have heard before is He’s a Pirate, and if I could listen to music while reading, I would so use that one! It would be such a fun way to get in the mood 🙂

    My TTT.

    Also, feel free to check out this week’s new giveaway!

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 8:56 pm

      Oh, I really like that one. It has a wonderful feel to it that gets me tapping my feet so fast lol

    • Jinan February 18, 2016 / 8:52 pm

      I love it too! And this violin version is extra awesome!

Join the Discussion

