Book Beginning: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

jinansbookistry

This is a Friday Book Beginning post, a weekly meme hosted at Rose City Reader. For more info, click here

Everything had gone horribly wrong.

Chapter 1, Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

This book has been a long, long time in the reading. I was lucky enough to read the long sampler on netgalley and when the book was up for preorder, I preordered it. Its publication date came and went, and the book wouldn’t ship. I think the Book Depository people hate me now from how much I pestered them. After a week or so, I cancelled my order and had to boil in my anger while waiting for the money to go back to my credit card so I can order another edition. 2 weeks after that I had the book in my hands at last but I was reading a review copy that required my full attention (review coming soon). Alas, I had to put TRUTHWITCH on my shelf and endure its beautifully taunting cover. But now, I’ve picked it up at last. And you know what they say, “Hardships make your reward so much sweeter.”

(or something like that)

14 thoughts on “Book Beginning: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

    • Jinan February 19, 2016 / 4:38 pm

      “In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

      Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

      Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

      In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch. ”

      🙂

    • Jinan February 19, 2016 / 4:27 pm

      Thank you, Anne! I’m hoping so, too 😀

  1. Karen (@wellreadpirate) February 19, 2016 / 2:17 pm

    After all that effort I hope it’s worth it! The cover in the sidebar is gorgeous, at least!

    • Jinan February 19, 2016 / 4:26 pm

      Me too, Karen, me too. And yes, that’s one gorgeous cover, right? 🙂

  2. lemon123 February 19, 2016 / 5:01 pm

    Glad you have time to read it now. I really like the beginning

    • Jinan February 21, 2016 / 11:08 am

      The beginning does sound awesome, doesn’t it?

  3. kgriffin3227 February 19, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    Wow, that sounds like a pain. I’ve heard really good things about Truthwitch though, and I like the beginning! I hoe you enjoy it! Here’s my Friday post. Happy reading!

    • Jinan February 21, 2016 / 11:17 am

      oh it was! I was so, so annoyed throughout it all. But thank god it’s behind me now. Thank you for the lovely comment and I wish you a good week 🙂

    • Jinan February 21, 2016 / 11:18 am

      That’s awesome! I hope you like it 😀

    • Jinan February 21, 2016 / 11:23 am

      I’m not very far into the book but until now I’m really liking it! Hopefully the whole book will be worth the effort it took for me to have the book in my hands :’) Thank you for the lovely comment and have a wonderful week!

Join the Discussion

