Book Review: Siren’s Fury (Storm Siren #2) by Mary Weber

22586972Title: Siren’s Fury

Author: Mary Weber

Publication Date:  June 2nd 2015

Format: ARC 

 “I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But it’s no use. The curse I’ve spent my entire life abhorring—the thing I trained so hard to control—no longer exists.”

Nym has saved Faelen only to discover that Draewulf stole everything she valued. Now he’s destroyed her Elemental storm-summoning ability as well.

When Nym sneaks off with a host of delegates to Bron, Lord Myles offers her the chance for a new kind of power and the whispered hope that it may do more than simply defeat the monster she loathes. But the secrets the Bron people have kept concealed, along with the horrors Draewulf has developed, may require more than simply harnessing a darker ability.

They may require who she is.

Set against the stark metallic backdrop of the Bron kingdom, Nym is faced with the chance to change the future.

Or was that Draewulf’s plan for her all along?

 

3 stars

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

Thoughts

This book took me forever to read. First, when I picked it up, I had just finished the audiobook of THE WRATH AND THE DAWN and I was still reeling over that awesome story and even more amazing narration. Second, I found the better part of this book to be very slow and lacking in action. I won’t lie to you. I contemplated skimming through. I wanted to know what will happen, I wanted to badly, but I was bored out of my mind. Nothing was happening, the action was minimal, and I started fearing from falling into a reading slump because I didn’t want to leave it unread but at the same time I wanted to read something enjoyable. I felt like I was reading page after page and it.was.not.finishing. I was very conflicted and I came very, very close to skimming through the 40% that was left. On the 9th day, I was gearing to just flip through to see what happens.

But I hesitated.

And decided to give it another chance. One last chance, J.

AND boy was I glad that I did!

Because those last 40%? They had double the action the other part of the book had. I read them in one sitting, couldn’t bear the idea of setting my phone down to do anything else until I knew what was going to happen.

The writing was as beautiful as in STORM SIREN and I really enjoyed that. It was part of what kept me going, actually. Another part was the world building. As I predicted in my STORM SIREN review, we got to see two of the other kingdoms in this book and the descriptions were amazing and detailed.

Character Analysis

Nym

She’s the third reason why I kept ploughing forward. I adore Nym. ADORE HER. I loved her in the first book and my love for her increased even more throughout this one. She’s so flawed, so insecure, so kickass, so real, so ready to do anything to protect those she loves, so achingly sweet, and so, so blind to how amazing and worthy she is. She’s someone whom I’d want to be friends with. Someone whom I’d want to have my back and me hers. I rooted for her. I rooted for her so hard even when her powers turned her a bit dark. And you know why? Because any person with powers so effing powerful WILL turn a bit dark. No matter how righteous they are. No matter how good. And right now? I just want her to be happy. I want her to smile and I want there to be no sadness behind it.

Myles

Myles is one of those characters who you don’t know their true motives yet still really like them. Is he bad? Is he good? Do I care? Not really. The way he always found his way to be standing at Nym’s elbow reminded me of a boy trying to befriend the cool girl in his class and IT WAS EFFING HILARIOUS. I want him to get some love in the last book. #mylesbabyimhereforyou

Rasha

She was okay. I didn’t particularly like her but I didn’t hate her either. Maybe it was because she kept on being rude and mean to my baby Myles.

Bottom Line

While I didn’t like this one as much as the first, I’m still really looking forward to picking up the last book. I really hope we get more Eogan&Nym moments. I also need more Mylessssss.

Recommended to: Those who like MCs with darkness in them.

Join the Discussion

