Book Review: Into the Dim (Into the Dim #1) by Janet B. Taylor

25897792Title:Into the Dim

Author: Janet B. Taylor

Publication Date: 1st March 2016

Format: ARC

“Seventy-two hours, then we have to be back at the clearing. Sunrise on the third day.”
Being “the homeschooled girl,” in a small town, Hope Walton’s crippling phobias and photographic memory don’t help her fit in with her adoptive dad’s perfectly blonde Southern family. But when her mother is killed in a natural disaster thousands of miles from home, Hope’s secluded world crumbles. After an aunt she’s never met invites her to spend the summer in Scotland, Hope discovers that her mother was more than a brilliant academic. She’s a member of a secret society of time travelers, and is actually trapped in the twelfth century in the age of King Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine. Now Hope must conquer her numerous fears and travel back in time to help rescue her mother before she’s lost for good. Along the way, she’ll discover more family secrets, and a mysterious boy who could be vital to setting her mother free… or the key to Hope’s undoing.

 

4 stars

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

The Plot: Summarized

Hope, a girl with photographic memory and a ton of phobias, is sent away to her aunt’s home after it’s believed that her mum died in an earthquake. Her trip to Scotland suddenly turns a whole lot more interesting when she discovers that her mum isn’t dead but actually stuck in 12th century London and that she has to save her.

Thoughts

First let me begin by saying that I’m so happy I got to read this book early! Into the Dim was one of my most anticipated books of 2016 and I squealed once I saw that my netgalley request was accepted.

I really enjoyed reading this book. It was super fast paced, very engaging, and sucked me right into that world from the first few pages. I feel that that is really important that adventure books are like that because you don’t want to risk having the reader get bored.

Even though Taylor’s writing style wasn’t lyrical or flowery like I would usually prefer, and the imagery and descriptions were minimal, somehow that suited the storyline and events just fine. I think that if the imagery was flowery and ‘beautiful’ it would have made the story over the top.

If you don’t know already, I adore time travel books. They are some my favorite plotlines and I always love thinking about the mind boggling aspects of time travel that other people detest. I don’t understand why some people dislike it, tbh. The idea that something in the present had happened that way because sometime in the future you are going to go back to the past and change it always intrigued me and filled me with wonder. However, since I love it so much, I’m always worried that the book I pick up doesn’t do it well and that always keeps me cautious. Well, let me tell you that this book didn’t disappoint! It depicted everything right, and lived up to the expectations. I couldn’t be happier.

The only thing that I didn’t like is that the complications were almost too much. I get that this is an adventure book and that in adventure books you are supposed to have shit happening and the main characters running and stuff, but I felt like whenever anything was going even a liiiiiiittle bit right, crap would suddenly sprout out of nowhere. There was this scene once when I said “Okay stuff could NOT get any worse than this. It’s impossible.” but guess what, haha, THINGS GOT A SHITLOAD WORSE.

Character Analysis

Hope

Hope grows up so much during the course of the book. She goes from being a scared girl, who doesn’t want to try doing anything new to this really brave and daring character who would do anything to help those she loves. Seeing that happen was so heartwarming and I found myself smiling on more than occasion.

Bran

OH BRAN YOU SWOONY, SWOONY BOY. I loove having we-are-on-opposite-ends-of-this-battle lovers in my books as much as I hate oh-I-love-you-but-we-can’t-be-together-because-of-some-shitty-reason so his relationship with Hope was interesting and cheek smooshing worthy.

Bottom Line

Book 2 can’t get published fast enough! I need more Hope and Bran ❤

Recommended to: Those who like time travel books with Heroines who progress a LOT and share hot kisses with one drool worthy Hero.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Into the Dim (Into the Dim #1) by Janet B. Taylor

  1. Ardis @ Pondering The Prose February 28, 2016 / 8:55 pm

    Great review. I TRIED to get approved for Into The Dim, but was turned down. I will have to wait until the books comes out to experience it. Now I can’t wait!

    • Jinan March 15, 2016 / 12:24 pm

      I hope you like the book, Ardis 😀

Join the Discussion

