Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR #1) by Sarah J. Maas

25521109

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publication Date: May 5th 2015

Format: Audiobook 

 When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

 

4 stars and a halfThe Plot: Summarized

Being the care taker of her family, Feyre was hunting in the woods to be able to feed her family throughout the bitter winter when she comes across a huge wolf hunting the same deer as her. In a moment of anger and fear, she kills the wolf and takes his pelt home. All was well until a beast breaks into her house and demands that she pays for what she has done. Instead of killing her though, the beast takes her over to the fae world and tells her that he won’t kill her if she agrees to live with him forever. Soon Feyre discovers that there are things happening in the fae world, things that shouldn’t be happening, and that she might be the key to solving everything. And on top of all that, she has to battle her growing feelings for her kind host.

Thoughts

This book really didn’t want to be reviewed. I sat in front of my laptop for a very long time and couldn’t think of a proper way to start it even though the beginning of reviews always comes the easiest to me. But now that I’ve started (hallelujah), the words are bubbling inside me and I’m typing all off this really fast. Come closer dear reader, because I need to tell you how much I loved this book. It’s a one you don’t want to miss, trust me.

Before picking it up, I read a lot of reviews and they all said the same thing: ACOTAR isn’t on the same level as TOG and that some parts were boring. Fortunately for me, I haven’t read TOG yet. I didn’t know Sarah’s writing. I didn’t know her story telling skills. So I didn’t go in with any expectations that I felt this book needed to live up to. But you know what? I effing loved this book. I LOVED IT. I finished the 16 hrs audiobook in 9 days and (for me at least) that’s a feat. When I wasn’t listening to it, I was thinking about it and when I was, I was sitting on my nerves and proverbially biting my nails. Now I get why people love Sarah’s books so much. Her world building is legendary, her characters so bloody real, and there is this magical thing in the air when you read her words. Contrary to what other people said, I found there to be no dull moment and enjoyed every single page.

I really liked that this book is Adult and Fantasy at the same time. That’s one of my favorite genre combinations but unfortunately I don’t find a lot of them. I liked that it had its hot moments (H.O.T!!!) but that the sex scenes weren’t too graphic. I’m by no way a prude (I read historical romance as well as adult contemporary romance a lot) but I’m not super comfortable in reading full out sex scenes (or listening to them as in this case) and was really glad that while it wasn’t Fade-to-Black it wasn’t like I was a third wheel in the bedroom with them either.

Character Analysis

Feyre

I really liked Feyre. She was away from her family, surrounded by supernatural fairies but she held herself and her ground so well. She’s so effing smart and brilliant and I wanted to hug her throughout most of the book. Sometimes her stubbornness got on my nerves (that’s why the rating is 4.5 stars and not a full 5) but other than that she was a really fun character to follow. I grew to care for her very, very fast and I’m excited to see how she’s going to be in book 2.

Tamlin

He’s the swooniest of them all. Every moment with him and Feyre was *fans self*. Even though he’s so strong ad powerful, he was so kind and sweet to Feyre that I melted every time. WHEN HE BLUSHED I ALMOST FAINTED, OKAY??? And every time he told her he loved her OH GOD SAVE ME.

Lucien

Lucien is my love. No joke. He’s the joker character who has a lot of depth hidden under all those jokes and smiles and laughter and if you didn’t know this already, those are my absolute favorite characters everrrrrrrrrrrrr.

1a1c21a131cb7fda556ff8054f5e2939

And he has a scar. Scars are sexy. Oh and he also has one mechanical/magical eye.

I won’t ruin it for you but Lucien is a lot tougher than you originally think. I love him so much that when I found a fanart of him I immediately put it as my phone wallpaper. Lucien I love you. I loooooveee youuuuu. #jpleasecalmdown

I’m hoping that he gets some serious love in book 2. He totally deserves it.

Rhys

What the hell do people like in Rhys? I don’t understand. Sure he’s a bit sweet (vvvvvvv rarely) but how could they forget how he twisted the bone shard in Feyre’s arm just to hurt her? How could they? He kinda redeemed himself at the end but I draw a line at purposely hurting women. I can’t believe some people ship him and Feyre together; I’m a Tamlin fangirl all the way.

Bottom Line

I don’t understand how many people were disappointed with this one!  I need book 2 now! #FeyreXTamforevah

Recommended to: Fantasy lovers who want a seriously drool worthy hero and a beta who you *might* love even more than the hero 😉

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR #1) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Ardis @ Pondering The Prose February 28, 2016 / 8:42 pm

    I’m so glad you liked ACOTAR! I, too, had not read any SJ Maas before reading ACOTAR but I had the same experience as you. It has made me want to read everything SJ Maas has ever written! So I am reading all the ToG books now.

    • Jinan March 16, 2016 / 8:44 am

      How are you finding the TOG books? Are they really a lot better than ACOTAR?

Join the Discussion

