Blog Tour: Storm and Silence by Robert Thier

24035804Title: Storm and Silence

Author: Robert Thier

Publication Date: March 19th 2016 

Add on Goodreads.

 Freedom – that is what Lilly Linton wants most in life. Not marriage, not a brood of squalling brats, and certainly not love, thank you very much!
But freedom is a rare commodity in 19th-century London, where girls are expected to spend their lives sitting at home, fully occupied with looking pretty. Lilly is at her wits’ end – until a chance encounter with a dark, dangerous and powerful stranger changes her life forever…Enter the world of Mr Rikkard Ambrose, where the only rule is: Knowledge is power is time is money!

AmazonB&N • KoboSmashwords

Excerpt

divider

I cleared my throat again. And again.
‘Do you have a cough, Mr Linton?’ he asked without looking up. He continued writing.
‘No, Sir. I have a question.’
‘Then put it and leave. I have work to do.’
‘Well, err… it’s a bit delicate.’
‘Then put it delicately and leave.’
Ordinarily, his ice-cold manner would have gotten my dander up. But at the moment, my thoughts were fully occupied by a certain pressing matter.
‘Err… yes, Sir. You see, I have to do some urgent… business.’
He tapped the stacks of paper with his free hand. ‘So have I.’
‘I’m sure, Sir. It’s just that my business is somewhat more personal than yours. I, um, need to powder my nose.’
That was the first time he looked up. With his dark, sea-coloured eyes, he stared at my face intently.
‘Why? Your nose looks fine to me.’
‘Um… thanks for the compliment, but…’
‘If you absolutely must,’ he continued, bending his head again and continuing his writing, ‘you can do it here. I don’t mind.’
I nearly choked.
‘Err… Mr Ambrose?’
‘Are you still here, Mr Linton?’
‘Yes, Sir. I wanted to ask – have you been out in society much?’
He didn’t look up again. His fountain pen flew over the paper. Blue lines of ink spread over it with graceful ease. ‘No. I detest society. Ever since I’ve returned to England I’ve been far too busy with my business, anyway. Why?’
‘Because you seem a bit behind on social idioms. You see… to “powder your nose” is a phrase that ladies use when they want to indicate to gentlemen that they need to pee.’
There was a loud snap. When I looked, I saw that Mr Ambrose’s fountain pen had snapped in half under the sudden pressure of his fingers. Ink dripped out of the half he still held.
‘Then,’ he said in a very measured, calm voice, ‘please do not do it here.’

divider

An unpolished version of this books is posted on Wattpad. You can check that out before making up your mind about purchasing the book, but know that the published version has extra material that you want to read. Trust me. 😉

Make sure to check out the other posts in this blog tour!

Name Date Blog Link
Jinan 19th of March  LINK
Henz 20th of March  LINK
Aira 21st of March  LINK
Raven 22nd of March  LINK
Nina 23rd of March  LINK
Eti 24th of March  LINK

 About Robert Thier

bQ54pT6p

Robert Thier is a German Historian and writer of Historical Fiction. His particular mix of history, romance and adventure, always with a good deal of humor thrown in, has gained him a diverse readership ranging from teenagers to retired grandmothers. For the way he manages to make history come alive, as if he himself had lived as a medieval knight, his fans all over the world have given him the nickname “Sir Rob”.

For him, Robert says, becoming a writer has followed naturally from his interest in history. “In Germany,” he says, “we use the same word for story and history. And I’ve always loved the one as much as the other. Becoming a storyteller, a writer, is what I’ve always wanted.”

Besides writing and researching in dusty old archives, on the lookout for a mystery to put into his next story, Robert enjoys classical music and long walks in the country. The helmet you see on the picture he does not wear because he is a cycling enthusiast, but to protect his literary skull in which a bone has been missing from birth. Robert lives in the south of Germany in a small village between the three Emperor’s Mountains.

Join the Discussion

