Book Review: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

18933377

Title: These Broken Stars

Author: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Publication Date: December 10th 2013

Format: Audiobook 

Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive – alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.

 

five stars

The Plot: Summarized

That synopsis up there is so summarized already 😀

Thoughts

SIIIGGHHHH

How do I find the words to describe this book? In which dictionary should I look?

I fear that no matter how much I try, I’ll never find the right words.

I went into this book because of the Rock My TBR reading challenge. It’s been on my TBR for a really long time and I’ve heard so many people sing it praises but I never felt like reading it. Wait no that’s a lie because I did want to read it (the synopsis is amazing)…but it’s sci-fi.

I don’t do sci-fi.

So while I was on my Let’s-cut-back-my-TBR-goodreads-list rampage, I came over it again and again. And every time I battled with myself: shall I keep it? remove it? I couldn’t decide. One day (one night??) I was browsing audible when I came across the reviews of the audiobook and they were really encouraging. So I made an impulsive buy. And next morning, earphones attached while on the way to uni, I patted myself on the back for it.

I really think this is the best audiobook I’ve listed to up to date. (ACOTAR is a close second. Review here.) The voice actors were brilliant, the sound effects top notch, everything, everything was excellent. EVERYTHING.

And while the execution of the audiobook certainly made me love the book a whole lot more, the book itself is amazing. Kaufman and Spooner did a really good job with the world building; I never got bored or confused which is usually the case whenever I read a sci-fi (which is vvvvvvvvv rarely). And guess what? It didn’t have those sleezy tech words that make some of us no-no sci-fi books!!! Another great thing about this book is that I never noticed any breaking in the writing style. This was my first time reading (listening?) to a book that’s coauthored and I was really worried about that some parts would sound iffy but nope! It was all very smooth and the atmosphere always felt the same. I wonder how Kaufman and Spooner did that.

Everything in here was connected. That thing that happened a few chapters ago? Well it happened because of XXXX. The intricate details that were all woven together are really a work of art and I had so much fun trying to connect things and trying to figure out what the hell was going on. Because a lot of shit went down in this book. A LOT. I sat on my nerves through so many bus rides, worried that something might happen to my beloved characters (who I grew to care for since the first chapters).

And then that thing happened.

A book doesn’t have to really very hard to make me cry but I positively bawled here. P.S DON’T WORRY THIS BOOK HAS A HAPPY ENDING ENDING. I REPEAT, THIS BOOK HAS A HAPPY ENDING.

Character Analysis

Lilac

oKAY SO I DIDN’T PARTICULARLY LIKE LILAC IN THE BEGINNING. She was spoiled and mean to my baby Tarver and I wanted to shake some sense into her more than once. But then I got her figured out. This book is written in dual pov so you alternate between both Tarver and Lilac’s and because of that, you get to know them both. After some time, when I got to know Lilac and understood why she behaved the way she did, my heart ached for her.

Tarver

Would you believe it if I told you that I just got this funny feeling in my chest once I read Tarver’s name? Because I did. Oh my Lord this boy is so swoonworthy I EFFING MELT.

swooning

Bottom Line

I was a bit skeptic about this book; I don’t do sci-fi with all its spaceships and tech terms but you have no no idea how glad I am that I gave this book a chance. It’s a new favorite.

Recommended to: Those who want a **seriously** swoon/droolworthy hero i.e EVERYONE WHO LIVES IN THIS WIDE, WIDE UNIVERSE.

Join the Discussion

