Book Review: Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

23395822Title: Daughter of Deep Silence

Author: Carrie Ryan

Publication Date: May 26th 2015

Format: Audio Book

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.
In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

 

3 stars

The Plot: Summarized

This synopsis is really summarized already too!

Thoughts

I love audiobooks. I just love the tones the narrators use while reading. It makes me feel like I’m there standing with the characters (Or floating over their heads while invisible, it depends on my mood.) And because of that, every audiobook carries not only the potential of the book itself, but also that of the narrator. If the narrator is good, I’ll speed through it. I’ll think of it while I’m eating. And falling asleep. Basically all throughout the day.

This book started out like that. The narrator was awesome and the plot (HELLOO REVENGE???) intrigued me and Francis had one heck of a voice.

Then, half way through, like a soda bottle that you forgot to close, it fizzled out. Francis started doubting her plan and and then coming back to it by reinding herself of what happened. I kept waiting for her to carry the chainsaw and finish everyone off but she didn’t. Her thoughts kept on turning to Gray and the whole book took a romantic turn LIKE WHAT THE F

THIS IS NOT THE REVENGE I WAS PROMISED IN THE SYNOPSIS, OKAY?

And because of that, the book felt more like a MG instead of a YA. The revenge was played down as if the author didn’t want to subject the young audience to violence. And I couldn’t understand why. What I think happened is that this book was either marketed to the wrong age group or simply that the author doesn’t understand her audience well.

However, even with all those problems, I still enjoyed listening to the rest of the book. I wanted to see how it was all going to end (even if not in the manner that I wished and hoped it would end with). Again, I credit that to the narrator and Francis’s voice.

Character Analysis

Frances

Francis was such a viscous character in the beginning and I loved her for it. When I read a revenge book, I expect a cold blooded killer who isn’t scared to do the shit that needs t be done. Francis was like that. Then Gray dominated her thoughts and I wanted to shake some sense into her. I don’t give a shit how hot the guy is. If I am to extract revenge, I shouldn’t let something like that distract me. Especially if the dude in question is as bland as cardboard.

Gray

BLEH. BLEEHHHHH! BLAND. ANNOYING. I didn’t get what Francis saw in him and, most importantly, I didn’t see how or why she started doubting her plot and plan because of him.

Shepherd

Loved him! Probably the only character that I loved until the end. He’s so smart and perceptive and sweet and my heart broke for him when he knew that Libby is dead.

Bottom Line

I wanted to see more revenge. Call me bloodthirsty if you will, but I just love a good, bloody, cold, feelingless scheme that actually gets CARRIED OUT till the end. This book didn’t really satisfy the itch.

Recommended to: Those young readers who are still transitioning from MG to YA.

Join the Discussion

