Ten Books Every Fantasy Lover Should Read

jinansbookistry

This is a Top Ten Tuesday post which originated at The Broke and the Bookish. For more topics/information about how to participate, please click here

  • Eragon by Christopher Paolini
  • Paladin by Sally Slater (review here)
  • Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (review here)
  • Storm Siren by Mary Weber (review here)
  • The Cabinet of Wonders by Marie Rutkoski
  • A Touch of Poison by Aaron Kite
  • For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund
  • The Soul Thief by Majanka Verstraete (review here)
  • The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig (review here)

Manga

  • Ranma 1/2 by Rumiko Takahashi
  • Magico by Iwamoto Naoki

Q1: Read any of these books and agree with me?
Q2: Any fantasy books you recommend?

20 thoughts on “Ten Books Every Fantasy Lover Should Read

  1. ChrissiReads April 12, 2016 / 8:47 am

    I enjoyed A Court of Thorns and Roses! Great choices. 🙂

    • Jinan April 12, 2016 / 2:18 pm

      Glad you liked ACOTAR too, Chrissi 😀

  2. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense April 12, 2016 / 8:50 am

    Fantasy is my go-to genre. I absolutely love it and can never get enough. For Darkness Shows the Stars is one of my favorite books, I adore Elliot so much. The Girl from Everywhere was a great debut, I can’t wait for the sequel. Great list this week!
    My TTT

    • Jinan April 12, 2016 / 2:29 pm

      It’s my go-to genre too! For Darkness Shows the Stars is one of those books that have an amazing title, cover, and content; I loved it!
      Thank you and have a wonderful week 🙂

  3. Maybe Someday Reviews April 12, 2016 / 9:51 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed Ruby Red! A Court of Thorns and Roses is on my TBR, but I keep passing it up and I’m not sure why because I absolutely loved the Throne of Glass series.

    • Jinan April 12, 2016 / 2:45 pm

      I adored Ruby Red! Time travel is one of my fav subgenres so I pick it up a lot 😀 Oh you should defo read ACOTAR. I really, really enjoyed it and I hope you do too 🙂

  4. Jamie Wu April 12, 2016 / 12:34 pm

    I liked Eragon too. But I thought it went downhill after Eldest. I enjoyed Throne of Glass, so definitely going to check out a Court of Thorn and Roses, once I get caught up with the Throne of Glass series.

    • Jinan April 12, 2016 / 2:36 pm

      Really? That’s interesting, because I thought it got better after Eldest! Brisingr is my fav book of the series! Hope you like ACOTAR, Jamie 🙂

      • Jamie Wu April 12, 2016 / 4:15 pm

        My friend thought Brisingr was the best too. I remember being disappointed when I finished it when it first came out. Maybe I should revisit it some time.

        Thanks, hope I can get to it sometime soonish.

        • Jinan April 12, 2016 / 6:32 pm

          If you ever revisit it, I hope you’ll like it more!

    • Jinan April 12, 2016 / 2:37 pm

      Hope you pick some of them, then! Thank you and have a wonderful week 🙂

  5. Cait @ Paper Fury April 12, 2016 / 2:49 pm

    I’m a huge fantasy fan and kiiind of EVERY ashamed that I haven’t read Eragon yet. EEEK. What’s wrong with me?!?! That’s like THE classic YA fantasy of them all right?! (Plus dragons are awesome so I really really should read it.) 😄
    Here’s my TTT!

    • Jinan April 12, 2016 / 2:54 pm

      Oh Cait you totally need to! It’s one of my fav series ever. Dragons are effing brilliant 😀

  6. Jolien @ The Fictional Reader April 12, 2016 / 4:04 pm

    I loved Paladin by Sally Slater, so I’m so glad to see someone else talking about it! And I do love Eragon as well. Yay for fantasy! Great list 🙂

    • Jinan April 12, 2016 / 6:17 pm

      Paladin just doesn’t get the love it deserves, right? Thank you and hope you have a lovely week 😀

  7. Kate @ Midnight Book Girl April 12, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    I’ve always liked Fantasy, but I’ve been reading a lot more the past couple of years. I’d definitely recommend The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, it’s one of my favorites.

    My TTT

    • Jinan April 12, 2016 / 9:16 pm

      so many people have recommended that one to me but I’m so intimidated by its size. Maybe one day soon!

Join the Discussion

