Book Review: Future Shock (Future Shock #1) by Elizabeth Briggs

51t3i2zvkml-_sl300_Title: Future Shock

Author: Elizabeth Briggs

Publication Date: April 1st 2016

Format: Audiobook 

 Elena Martinez has hidden her eidetic memory all her life–or so she thinks. When powerful tech giant Aether Corporation selects her for a top-secret project, she can’t say no. All she has to do is participate in a trip to the future to bring back data, and she’ll be set for life.

Elena joins a team of four other teens with special skills, including Adam, a science prodigy with his own reason for being there. But when the time travelers arrive in the future, something goes wrong and they break the only rule they were given: do not look into their own fates.

Now they have twenty-four hours to get back to the present and find a way to stop a seemingly inevitable future from unfolding. With time running out and deadly secrets uncovered, Elena must use her eidetic memory, street smarts, and a growing trust in Adam to save her new friends and herself.

 

4 stars and a half

The Plot: Summarized

Elena can’t wait to turn 18 and get out of foster care. All she wants is to make a better life for herself, to go to college and to have a place of her own. So when Aether Corp reach out to her in the hopes of her joining them in a secret research in return for a huge amount of money, she agrees. There, she and 4 other teens learn that the secret project is for them to travel into the future to gather info about the technology at that time. But things aren’t exactly as they seem, and Elena and her new friends are put against dangers they would have never expected.

Thoughts

If you look back to the books in my time travel tag, you’ll notice that I start all those reviews the same way: by singing about my love for time travel books. So this time, for a change of routine, I’m going to spare you and jump straight into the review itself.

You’re welcome 😉

Also because this book was so good and I don’t want to dance around, wasting your time, when you should be reading it instead.

So

I came across this book on Netgalley. It had been a while since I requested anything so I was searching for any hidden gems I might have overlooked. When I saw this book, I didn’t like the cover but the title intrigued me so I clicked on it. I read the synopsis and fell in love. So I requested to review it but was turned down. Twice.

(Perhaps I’m a liiittle bit bitter)

tumblr_ly2dok1d5h1ql5uxjo1_500

Anyway, when the book was published, I convinced myself not to take the rejections personally and got the audiobook. Boy am I glad I did that. Because if you haven’t figured it out already, I SUPER enjoyed it.

It’s so good. So damn good.

Butterflies were flitting in my stomach whenever I was listening to it. It’s been a really long time since I was this invested in a book and IT.FELT.BRILLIANT.

The writing sucked me right in. It’s not flowery, or poetic, but not clunky and choppy either. It flowed smooth and suited Elena’s endearingly adorable voice (she’ll kill me if she sees this HAH) so much. The narrator’s voice was also spot on! I felt like it fit Elena’s personality just right.

My brain felt straight at home since the beginning, and once the teens time traveled it latched on to all those time travel aspects and started working overtime to figure everything out. The mystery kept me on the edge of my seat all throughout and more than once I caught myself about to start biting my nails.

Now that I think about it, what made me enjoy this one even more is that it’s about traveling to the future. All the other time travel books that I’ve read were about going back to the past so this one was new territory that I’m so glad I went in. I really enjoyed seeing how Briggs imagined the future to be. It sort of felt like I was glimpsing a part of her brain. Yes I realize how weird that sounded but hear me out for a bit. When you know how someone foresees the future, it’s like knowing how they think, you know?

Character Analysis

Elena

I loved Elena from the very fIrst page. I liked her tough exterior that hid inside it a girl who was so sweet and loving but didn’t have enough nerve and confidence in herself to show it. I loved her hopes for the future. I ached for her and her sufferings and she made me think about how many kids, real world kids, have passed through the same shit as her. But most importantly, she reminded me that regular girls can change the world if they wanted to. So thank you Elena, and I hope that you continue to teach me things in your coming adventures. xx

Adam

Adam. Oh, Adam. I’m in love with you. Make me origami things pls.

On a more serious note, I loved how he wasn’t made into a perfect character. Usually books with ‘good guys’ portray the guy as this perfect creature who can do no wrong but I was pleasantly proven wrong in this this case. Adam made mistakes that made me, in turn, want to shake some sense into him but those were what made him real and I loved him even more because of them. I also adored how he believed in Elena so much and how much strength he unknowingly gave her, how modest and down to earth he was even though you might expect a genius to look down on us regular folk, and how he makes her origami things OH LORD I SWOON.

Bottom Line

I loved this book and you should pick it up right now.

Recommended to: Those who want to read a rare twist on time travel books with one kick ass ‘bad girl’ female lead and a ‘good boy’ hero.

Join the Discussion

