Book Review: -Sneak Peek- Ghostly Echoes (Jackaby #3) by William Ritter

cover86687-mediumTitle: Ghostly Echoes

Author: William Ritter

Publication Date:  August 23rd 2016

Format: Sneak Peek ARC 

 Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly landlord of 826 Augur Lane, has enlisted the services of her detective-agency tenants to solve a decade-old murder–her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny’s fiancé, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny’s case isn’t so cold after all, and her killer may be far more dangerous than they suspected.

Fantasy and folklore mix with mad science as Abigail’s race to unravel the mystery leads her across the cold cobblestones of nineteenth-century New England, down to the mythical underworld, and deep into her colleagues’ grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.

 

five stars

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

When I first picked Jackaby up, I thought it was a standalone. After flying through it, I was over the moon when I knew it was actually a series and quickly purchased the second book when it came out. Somehow, somehow, I enjoyed it even more than the first one. Hmm. It might have been the dragons. Yep, definitely the dragons.

Anyway, the minute I saw the sneak peek for the third book on Netgalley, I knew I had to read it. I completely adored Jenny in the first two books and a book about the investigation of her murder sounded exactly like something up my alley. And oh my God I was so right! I really, really enjoyed these seven chapters! I very much missed Ritter’s writing and Jackaby (oh Jackaby how I love you so!) and Abigail and the chemistry between them and do you think we’re gonna see Charlie? I hope so!

Join the Discussion

