Book Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #1) by Melinda Salisbury

21936988Title: The Sin Eater’s Daughter

Author: Melinda Salisbury

Publication Date: February 24th 2015

Format: Paperback 

 Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girl she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous as the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

 

3 stars

The Plot: Summarized

Being the incarnation of the Gods’ daughter, Twylla doesn’t only get to marry the crown prince but she also has to act as the royal executor. Anyone who angered the Queen (and boy were those a lot) was to be executed by her poisonous touch. Because of that, she never had any lasting guards, as they would all leave the job after witnessing her kill those people just by putting her hand on their necks. Then a handsome dude named Lief is appointed as her guard and for some reason he’s not afraid or disgusted of her. Soon Twylla has to protect her heart from him, and him from the treasonous things he’s constantly spitting.

Thoughts

You know those days when money is low and you make an impulsive buy and then spend the rest of the day hoping whatever you bought was worth it?

That was how I bought this book.

I’ve had it on my TBR for a good while now since I’m part of the #RockMyTBR 2016 reading challenge, I decided it was high time I read it. I really liked the synopsis but what was stopping me from giving it a try was the rating. I want to say that I’m not easily affected by a book’s rating but I’d be lying; if a book doesn’t have a good rating, I tend to be overly critical while reading it. Just like I’m saying, “oh just give me a reason to hate on you”.

Yes I know that that’s bad and that I shouldn’t be easily influenced and I’m working on myself but it’s not easy.

So when I started this and liked it, I was very pleasantly surprised. The writing was good and the plot-line was good and interesting. Then around halfway through, everything skated down the slope. The focus of the story changed and turned to romance which I don’t think I would’ve minded as much if I liked the romantic relationship itself. I found the whole thing to be sappy and unconvincing with zero chemistry.

Twylla and Lief just.didn’t.suit.

In addition to the unconvincing relationship, the book lost its plot. I didn’t know what I was waiting for to happen and I was very frustrated because of that. I don’t know about you, but I personally  don’t like to read books where I don’t know where the book is heading.

Character Analysis

Twylla

Twylla was one of the main reasons the book went downhill for me. She was useless throughout the whole affair and when she decided to do something she botched it up big time. Like dude, I wish you stayed your useless self. giphy

Lief

I lost count over how many times I rolled my eyes over Lief’s antics and immaturity. He was sort of okay in the beginning but I quickly got fed up and couldn’t care any less about what happened to him. In addition to all that, his actions sometimes struck me as possessive and if there’s one thing I cannot tolerate, it’s a possessive man. Let me give you an example: Twylla was with Merek once and he was flirting with her. Lief comes upon them and it’s SO obvious that Twylla wasn’t enjoying what was going on. After Merek left, Lief was so cold towards her until she told him that she doesn’t want to be with Merek. Then he started hugging her and telling her how she was his and how much he loved her. WHAT’S THIS BS???

Merek

Merek was an interesting character. He sometimes came across as mad (and with a queen like that as his mother what do you expect?) but he wasn’t an ass and I definitely liked him more than Lief.

Bottom Line

This book started out well but my enjoyment kept on dwindling and dwindling until it almost reached zero. Then the book suddenly  got better again in the last few chapters. What bored me out of my mind was that the book took a turn towards a romance that I didn’t feel and the plot became non-existent because of that. However, I’m still going to pick up Book Two because I want to see how everything is going to tie up in the end.

Recommended to: Those who want a fantasy book that’s more focused on the romance. 

Join the Discussion

