Book Review: Siren’s Song (Storm Siren #3) by Mary Weber

22586973Title: Siren’s Song

Author: Mary Weber

Publication Date: March 1st 2016

Format: ARC 

 Nym and Draewulf prepare to face off in a battle destined to destroy more lives than it saves.

With the loss of Tulla still fresh in mind, Rasha’s fate unknown, and Lord Myles taken over by the dark ability, Nym and the few Bron soldiers rush to warn Cashlin’s queen. Only to discover it may already be too late for the monarch and her eerie kingdom. As the Luminescents are sifting through Nym’s past memories and the queen is reading into her future, Nym is given a choice of how to defeat Draewulf, but the cost may be more than she can bear. And even then there are no guarantees.

With that reality burrowing into her bones—along with the guilt of the lives she will sacrifice—Nym returns to her homeland of Faelen to raise an army of peasants through promises of freedom. But when the few friends she has left, along with the world and citizens she loves, are staring down the face of a monster and his undead army, will Nym summon every element her blood is capable of controlling . . . or surrender to a different strength—one of sacrifice?

Because in the end, death may be more merciful for them all.

 

4 stars and a half
**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

The Plot: Summarized

It’s the final battle against Draewulf and Nym is missing her closest friend while Myles is slowly losing his mind after taking in the dark power. With all the tension and expectations and people’s lives pressing against her, Nym has never felt as hopeful or as hopeless. But she has Eogan back, Eogan whom Nym might just be ready to sacrifice everything for.

Thoughts

This series always makes me feel tired when reading it. Not because they’re bad books (see book 1 and book 2 reviews), but because I feel like I’m living right there with the characters.william-styron-quote-a-good-book-should-leave-you-slightly-exhausted-a

Nym and Co spent most of their time fighting. They barely had any time to breathe, and because these books are so good, I, in turn, didn’t have time to breathe either.

Weber’s writing was as awesome as usual. I always seem to forget just how great her writing is between books and then I get shocked by how much I love it when I pick up the next one. The way she strings her sentences together is unbeatable and her descriptions are always spot-on. Her plot, story-line, and characters are already amazing but her lyrical writing just ups the whole thing. It’s definitely one hell of an experience–reading a Mary Weber book.

This book is definitely my favorite one of the three. SO much shit went down and it was a roller coaster ride from the beginning to the end. The correct expression to use here would be that I was sitting on the edge of my seat but I was lying on my bed for the most of it so that would technically incorrect 😉 But yes, I was sitting on the edge of my seat figuratively. 😉 😉

I’m just so glad that this book had a happy ending. I was so worried that we won’t get a HEA (and for a second I believed that we won’t) but thank GOD we did. My poor, poor heart wouldn’t have been able to take it. This is not me saying that this book was without pain because oh Lord I bawled my eyes out on more than one occasion and my sheets were tear-stained by the time I finished the book.

giphy-facebook_s

But you know what? Reading these books and getting to know Nym were worth every ounce of heartache I felt.

The only thing I have to comment on is that I wanted more Myles. He was barely there and my Myles-loving heart wanted so much more of him. I was really glad that he got more love but, again, I wish it was more there in the book and not just inferred.

Character Analysis

Nym

Oh my baby you don’t understand the impact you have on others. Nym is the sweetest, kindest character you’re ever going to come across and I weep for her because in the crappy world she lives in no one should be so tenderhearted.

She definitely had the most character development out of the gang. Little by little she got rid of all the self-loathing that was tucked inside her and being on that journey with her helped me get rid of some of the self loathing that’s inside me.

I’m going to miss you so much, Nym. I didn’t want this book to end because that would mean having to say bye to you but I hope that your life is better now. xxxxx

Eogan

I have mixed feeling towards Eogan. On one hand he REALLY annoyed me on so many occasions, especially when he was trying to be honorable and stuff , and when hid his emotions. I understand why he’s like that, but just because I understand doesn’t mean I have to like it. And because of that, I often felt that he doesn’t deserve Nym. On the other hand, I loved his comic arrogance and how much he cared about Nym.

Bottom Line

This book was everything I hoped it would be and more. We got epic battles, we got character growth, we got some romance without it taking over the whole plot, and we also got some (much needed) comedic relief! In short, it was awesome and I had so much fun reading it.

Recommended to: Those who are looking for a series that is what every series should be.

Join the Discussion

