Book Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25203675Title: The Star-Touched Queen

Author: Roshani Chokshi

Publication Date: April 26th 2016

Format: E-Book 

 Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

 

3 stars and a half

The Plot: Summarized

Mayavati is forced into an arranged marriage that turns out to be the complete opposite of what her black horoscope promises. But her husband has many secrets, dangerous secrets, that might fulfill the horoscope after all.

Thoughts

The star-touched queen was one of the most anticipated books of 2016 to many, not just me. So it was extremely important to me that it lived up to those expectations especially since my requests to review it were all declined (perhaps I’m a *bit* bitter).

I read the book with my goodreads book club and people were updating their thoughts on the book as they were going along. Most of them were really loving it. Some even declared it their new favorite book.

Was I loving it with them? No, not really.

I found the beginning to be boring and it was a while before we got to the proper action. However, reading the book even while nothing was happening wasn’t a chore. The prose is extremely beautiful and flowery and a book with extremely beautiful and flowery prose is my type of book so that sort of made up for it.

Around halfway through though, the book picked up its pace and that was when it became hard to put it down. I’m nnot at all familiar with indian mythology so all those creatures were new to me andbecause of that aforementioned prose, I felt like I was reading an actual myth instead of a retelling. Now that I think about it, maybe that was why I sometimes felt that I couldn’t connect with what was going on. Thiis feeling wasn’t there all the time but it really annoyed me when it was because it diminished my enjoyment of the book greatly.

Oh dear. This review is making it soud like I didn’t like the book but, really, I did. Perhaps it’s because I expected it to be so much better that I’m being overly harsh.

Character Analysis

Maya

I liked Maya from the beginning: she was so protective of her younger sister and she never succumbed when the Raja’s wives bated her. On the other hand, she was really gullible and fast to believe the worst in other despite the evidence staring at her right in the face.

Amar

So.much.swoon. He had my heart not long after he appeared and I spent the better part of the book sighing at everything he said and did.

Bottom Line

Really enjoyed this book despite feeling bored for the first few chapters and then those occasions where I lost connection with the characters.

Recommended to: Those who love flowery prose and beautiful descriptions.

Join the Discussion

