Book Review: Ghostly Echoes (Jackaby #3) by William Ritter

cover87768-mediumTitle: Ghostly Echoes

Author: William Ritter

Publication Date: August 23rd 2016

Format: ARC 

 Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the investigative services of her fellow residents to solve a decade-old murder—her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, Detective R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny’s fiancé, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny’s case isn’t so cold after all, and her killer may be far more dangerous than they suspected.

Fantasy and folklore mix with mad science as Abigail’s race to unravel the mystery leads her across the cold cobblestones of nineteenth-century New England, down to the mythical underworld, and deep into her colleagues’ grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.

 

five stars

**I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

The Plot: Summarized

Jackaby and Co. tackle the mystery of Jenny’s murder at last.

Thoughts

I’m a HUGE Jackaby fan and if you’re a frequent visitor, thank you for continuing to visit even after I’ve talked your ears off about my love for this series. If you’re new here, welcome hi hello my name is Jinan, come on, come on, come a bit closer and hear me fangirl over this series. You don’t want to miss out on these great books, trust me.

The day I received that Netgalley email I almost threw a party; I had requested the book some weeks earlier but didn’t hold out on the hope that I’d get accepted. But get accepted I did and I wanted, oh, to just start reading immediately. Alas, I had finals and I don’t read during that period. So I had to wait and wait and it was bloody torture but all that waiting made the reading—when I finished those damn exams and picked the book up AT LAST—so much sweeter and enjoyable.

In case you haven’t figured it out already, I loved Ghostly Echoes. I mean it’s a Ritter book and not to mention, a Jackaby book, so of course I loved it. Not as much as Beastly Bones mind you, but Beastly Bones had a dragon and I’m not sure any dragon-less book will ever top a dragon-full one.

A lot of shit went down in this book. I thought that Beastly Bones had a lot of shit but woooaah this one had way more than that and I was a ball of nerves most of the time. I think I even swore out loud on more than one occasion. From trips to the underworld to possession to the fae folk to ghosts to finally getting some answers for the questions posed in book 1, this book has it all. The only thing it’s missing were dragons but then again I can’t really expect ALL books to have those (why not????).

If you’ve read books 1&2, then you probably know that these books rely heavily on mythology. Jackaby is a supernatural detective so solving mysteries and crimes with supernatural elements is what he does. Now, I’ve read a lot of mythology inspired books. I effing love mythology. I should write ‘If I got a dollar every time I said I love mythology, I can afford the therapy I obviously need.’ on my forehead with a red marker. But these books have spiked my interest and love for them even more. The mythology in these books, people, is so bloody awesome. It’s not only Greek or Roman for example. No. There’s Irish and Indian and Chinese and Slovakian and from all over the world. The research Ritter must have done on all of those mythologies is unreal and he abso-fucking-lutely deserves to be a New York Times Best Selling Author.

In addition to all that? Everything is so well thought of. Because things that happened here in this book? Oh they’re tied in to something that happened in the first book. It’s brilliant, really.

Character Analysis

Jackaby

There was a lot more info about Jackaby and I really loved that. We got some glimpses about his past and that really helped me in understanding him a bit more. The best part? We’re definitely going to get even more about his past in the next book!  Maybe even his first name?

Abigail

Abigail just continues to grow and amaze me and I don’t know why I’m always amazed but I am. She’s so brave and smart and intelligent and lovely and she became more of those things over the course of the book. I wanted to see a bit more of her interaction with Charlie but oh well there was so much shit going on that there was no time for some romance between those two.

Jenny

Jenny is another character who had massive growth throughout this book. She went from being terrified and scared and lost to a strong woman who owned her world and her life and damn if I didn’t cry a bit over it. She deserves to live her life and I know that from now on she’s going to fight for that right.

Bottom Line

Loved it! I’ve missed these characters like crazy since I read Beastly Bones and I’m so grateful that I got to read Ghostly Echoes early. The only downside is that now I have to wait even more to get my next Jackaby fix! It was so worth it, though. So.worth.it.

Recommended to: Those who read and fell in love with the first two books in the series obviously and any mystery lover who would love to read a new take on crime and mystery book elements. 

Join the Discussion

