Book Review: -Sneak Peek- Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

cover93551-medium
Title: Furthermore

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publication Date: August 30th 2016

Format: Sneak Peek

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit—and with a liar by her side in a land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself—and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

 

five stars **I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, as always, are my own.**

I love Tahereh Mafi. Her Shatter Me series ranks really high in my Favorite Series of All Time list and the minute I knew she’s working on a new project my thoughts mapped out a hundred possibilities.

To tell you the truth, I was extremely bummed to see that this is only a sampler. I didn’t want to begin reading what I was sure would be a great book only to be cut a few chapters in. But the minute that sample sat down in my ereader, it started drilling holes in my back.

Resistance was futile.

I wish I can tell you I’m glad I read it. Because I’m not. It ended in such a torturous place I’m still agonizing over it even though I finished reading it two days ago (it was actually yesterday but I’m writing this early). I need to know what happens!!!!!!!! Oh I don’t know what to tell you. I can sit here and blab over what a good book it is but I suspect you already know it’s gonna be awesome. It’s Tahereh Mafi after all. No but seriously. It’s.so.bloody.awesome. I’m already in love with Alice. Mafi has outdone herself. The prose is amazing and so informal and lovely lovely lovely. It’s not exactly Shatter Me style but it’s flowery and flowy and beautiful in its own way. Ugh I can’t wait for it to be published.

One thought on “Book Review: -Sneak Peek- Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

Join the Discussion

